Southwestern Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This was really good. I didn't use beans or sour cream, since I didn't have either in my kitchen. I will probably use beans next time, but I don't like sour cream, and I don't think it necessarily needs it. I also added a taco seasoning packet, which made the dish delightfully spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Yarborough Chang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is okay. It is a bit dry, but that's easily adddressed with more sour cream with the casserole or maybe more salsa. The flavor is kind of blah--definitely needs more seasonings, and I'm not sure I'm thrilled with the black beans and corn. I personally think it needs some refried beans either in addition or as a sub to the black beans. I used lime flavored tortilla chips, and it masked the flavor (mostly) of the lime (I think that's a good thing--not thrilled with the lime tortilla chips), so don't be afraid to experiment with the chip type. It's just so so for us, though--needs some tweaks for us to be wowed. Thanks for the recipe! **Update: tried this again with a lot less tortilla chips, more sour cream, and refried beans instead of corn. I also used canned diced tomatoes. I added taco seasoning and a lot of garlic to the ground beef to spice it up, then added some queso dip to the mixture since I didn't have much cheese for the casserole itself. Much much better--very moist, almost a dip consistency, and hearty. We really enjoyed it this way! Thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by k80chavez
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
4th time making this. It is a staple now. Get a LARGE tomato. Those tangy fresh bits really liven up the whole dish. I make the recipe just as it says, the only difference is that I use one large can of corn and 2 different types of beans, and I try my hardest to keep it that way, because it's just so perfect the way it is. The first time, I followed advice saying that it was too dry, so I didn't use enough tortilla chips, but if you follow the recipe, it is not too dry. It is just right. I use HOT Pace Picante sauce instead of "fresh salsa" so maybe that makes it wet enough for the chips. *to get the flavor of the toasted corn, make sure you at least get yellow corn chips, not white like Tostitos. I use a brand that my frugal husband got when I sent him to the store called "Calidad" and the flavor is going towards Fritos, but not QUITE as strong. Maybe use half Fritos, half Tostitos if you don't have Calidad. MUST TRY! ** I made this for dinner the other night and shared with my coworker, and now I'm taking it to a Pot Luck at work tonight. So I went photo crazy while I was making it. It's not THAT good, to where I would obsess with it, but it IS a hit with the dudes, and I work in an Air Force maintenance shop... they make me think it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k80chavez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
We weren't crazy about this dish. The taste was okay, but the consistency and look of it was a bit off putting. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I added taco seasoning and used canned tomatoes when I cooked this. I was very surprised at how yummy it was! If it's too dry, try not draining all of your canned goods. I'm cooking this again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I added our own taco spice mixture as recommended, exchanged red beans for black since we don't like them and this made a huge casserole. Although the flavor was good it was very dry. We are going to use cream corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
It wasn't mind-blowing, but it was pretty good. I only used one can of black beans and one smallish bag of frozen corn. It still filled up my 9.5 x 13.5 pan to the top. Easy and affordable, but not awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Easy to make and was fantastic. Great for left overs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I enjoyed this VERY much. Although I did make altercations (b/c i didnt have everything needed). I cooked the meat in taco seasoning w/o the onion and garlic....I put the salsa on top instead of mixed w/ the beef and sourcream concoction. I layered it like you sai except added olives and jalapinos to the final layer before the cheese and tomatos/clilis and salsa. I just love the way salsa bakes on top of a dish. Thanks for the ideas!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Southampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Loved the recipe. I added cottage cheese for the sour cream only one cup. Turned out so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States