Southwest-Style Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
one word, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Delicious! I loved the idea of putting a southwestern twist on egg rolls, but I wasn't sure if what sounded good in theory would taste good in reality. I was very happily surprised. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of increasing the amount of cumin by 1/2 tsp and adding a tsp. of chili powder (but the spice amounts are really a matter of personal preference anyway). Oh and to keep these guys sealed, I found that mixing cornstarch and water really helps. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Good, but needs a little more spice/flavor for my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hduenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I read the reviews beforehand so I kicked up the spice a bit but these were really good and a lot easier than I thought they would be. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Needs a good sauce, like chipotle ranch, possibly a little more cumin and onion. I also added shredded chicken. Still, the boys loved it. I heard primo! at least 10 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I also use the same filling for quesadillas as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Yummy - thanks for the recipe - a couple things I did for personal preference only - omitted spinach and added cabbage, marinated a chicken breast in lime juice, honey, cumin. garlic, S&P and then cooked - sheredded and added to filling mix. baked the wrapped egg rolls in 350 oven to reduce the oil content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Lovely! These were a huge hit at a Mexican themed party recently. They didn't need meat at all and are very versatile. I used an 8-ounce bag of cheese and I suggest increasing the cheese and maybe using half cheddar and half pepperjack, because southwest is spicy, right? And I also increased the corn and added some taco seasoning. I used half of a white onion in addition to the green onion and I might use a jalapeno next time, too. For a sauce, I mixed pre-made ranch dip with hot salsa and that was a perfect complement. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
The egg rolls turned out absolutely perfect. I doubled the recipe just in case as I have a large family, but ended up with 20 extra egg rolls (can anyone say LEFTOVERS!?). Being inexperienced I wasn't quite sure what to do with the spinach (leave raw or cook). I took the safe route and cooked the leaves down in olive oil and salt beforehand. Tasted just fine in the end product. The recipe calls for frozen corn. Again I took the safe route and brought them to room temperature before the mix. I added extra cumin, as the amount recommended didn't seem to come out much in the pre frying taste. I also sliced up some avocados and reduced the amount of filling to a little less than 1 /4 cup to compensate. Prior to filling the egg roll wraps, I drained the filling one more time. I noticed any left over moisture would go right through the wraps. Anyway I think the inside of the rolls should not be wet at all after the frying. A tip on the sealing of the wraps was to not only use water but to add flour and water (1 part water to 1 part flour). It made a much better paste as opposed to just the water. Obviously excess flour just fried off anyway and wasn't noticeable. But it sure made closing the fat wraps easier. For half the batch I used just corn oil for frying. For the other half I used half olive oil and half corn oil. I thought it turned out crispier and tastier with the second route. Excellent recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States