Southwest Style Creamy Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I really liked this recipe, however, since the first time making it, I've made some changes for our taste. I use 2 bags of frozen corn, Flavor Pac brand I think, the Sweet Candy Corn and the Sweet Yellow are the two I think and I do still add the sugar. I use 2 cans chicken broth, omit the pepper or just give it a light sprinkle, omit the celery and omit the bacon unless we just sprinkle it over each bowl before serving. To assemble, I dice up 2 potatoes, half an onion, add the corn and the chicken broth to a big pot on the stovetop and cook until the potatoes and corn are soft, 15-20 minutes; then add the cheeses and stir constantly until all melted. Then I remove the pot from the stove and add 1 can of evaporated milk--careful here or it will curdle--still taste ok but look not so good... Almost forgot the most important ingredient to my changes--I add 2 heaping tablespoons of chopped jalapeno pepper from a jar with some of the juice while the potatoes are cooking. This soup is fabulous as written but even better I think with my changes--wish I could give it more stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This soup is really good but the celery was still crunchy after 4hrs on HIGH in the crockpot..I would saute it first or leave it out...and add 2 peeled potatoes to make it a true chowder. The cream cheese really makes it good & creamy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Pretty good! My husband and one year old son also enjoyed it. You can't beat a throw-it-in-the-crockpot-and-forget-it kind of meal. I did make a couple of changes - omitted the sugar and added some potatoes. I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and would probably do it the same way. My only mistake was to substitute turkey bacon - not a good idea! It came out tasteless. Stick with the real thing. I will definitely try this again with real bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by parker and gavins mom
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was a great chowder! Great consistancy unlike some watery corn chowders I have seen. I made a few changes I dident add the sugar and I only added 1/2 a tbs of pepper and wish I added less and let everone add it to their own bowl I found it to be a little too much for my little ones even with the 1/2 a tbs. At the end of cooking it I tasted it and it was good but something was missing.... Potatos! So I diced up three medium potatots cooked them up and added them to the soup before I served. My husband said it was the best corn chowder he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parker and gavins mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was a really good starter recipe. I added two diced pototoes and a small diced white onion. I used whole milk since that is what I had on hand. I doubled the bacon, cooked and diced it before putting it in the crockpot. I cut the black pepper to a TEASPOON and half and still felt the bite. Next time I will only use a teaspoon. I added a sprinkling of parsley flakes and about a 1/2 cup more chicken broth than the recipe calls for. This was delicious and everyone in my family ate it without issues. I have 4 kids, so that's a victory at dinner in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This recipe has great potential, but as is is way too spicy. When I cook a recipe, I never mess with the amount of ingredients. As I was pouring in the pepper, I was a bit skeptical of 2 tablespoons, as that seemed like a lot. When I tasted it a few hours later, it was so overwhelming that it took away from everything else. I ended up just doubling the recipe w/o adding any more pepper...and it was still spicy, but not nearly as bad. I will do this recipe again, but with much, much less pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
To obtain more fresh corn taste, I added 2 cups of fresh corn chopped in the blender . For a little bite chop real fine 1/2 of a fresh jalapeno pepper with veins and seed removed. Delicious. What a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This Chowder was so delicious! I used corn on the cob I had in the freezer. I just cut it off the cob..wonderful fresh taste. I will definately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was good but I made a couple changes. Make sure to cook bacon before hand or it won't get done. Also, don't use fat free cream cheese. I took out the sugar and celery and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Sorry, but we did NOT like this chowder; sugar in a corn chowder? I had my doubts as I read the recipe, but I never mess with a recipe the first go-round. It was TOO sweet; actually I don't think it needs ANY sugar. I gave this recipe two stars because of its potential. Other than it being sweet, it has great flavors, and love the ease of the crockpot. Will try again WITHOUT the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States