Southwest Stuffed Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Steve really liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Maybe better without flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This is such a nice alternative to typical Mexican fare! I first stumbled upon this recipe in my TOH Quick Cooking cookbook years ago and have been making it ever since. To change things up a bit, I'll sometimes substitute crushed Cheez-Its and a packet of taco seasoning (I still include the Parm) for the bread crumb coating and REALLY enjoy the change. NOTE: I once thought I'd be "efficient" and use chicken cutlets instead of breasts. BIG MISTAKE! To my surprise, the cutlets were a tad too thick to roll around the filling ingredients. :( Stick with breasts and gently pound them to 1/4 in. thickness MINIMUM (the suggested 1/8 in. is best). All you need to do to round out your meal is cook up some Mexican rice and open a can of Fiesta corn to serve on the side (oh, and don't forget the margaritas!!!)! Thanks for sharing your recipe with the AR community, Ms. Thorne. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is a simple but incredible recipe. It make it all the time now. Once I forgot the Parmesan cheese and I couldn't figure out what was wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha German

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gooding, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is stuff is great!! I have made it quite a few times and its always a hit. I try to make it a tad bit healthier by substuting 1/4c wheat germ for the bread crumbs. I also omit the flour and butter and dont have any problems with the coating not sticking. Update: I now do this completely different and is still so good. I lay the chicken flat in a 9x13 pan, spread the green chilis on the chicken, sprinkle it with grated pepper jack cheese, I make the bread crumb mixture minus the flour and sprinkle on top of the cheese and bake for 20 minutes. Fantastic! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lybra975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
My husband and I love this dish! Though we make it with sharp cheddar. The chicken turns out delicious with the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
The recipe was just okay. The flavor of the breading was good, but I had trouble getting it to stick to the chicken. Overall it was just a little bland and lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Turned out FANTASTIC. Didn't use flour, and swapped out the bread crumbs for panko. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I used Panko rather than bread crumbs and used a hot pepper cheese instead of Monterey Jack. Chicken breast tip: Take a breast and with your palm on top pressing lightly slice the chicken from side to side in two thin filets. Use a gallon size zip lock bag and cut sides to open lengthwise. Place one breast at a time between the plastic and pound until desired thickness is achieved. If chicken separates and becomes lacy, use fingers to press back together. Chicken will shrink up during baking. It is crucial to really get the chicken thin so that it is side enough to tuck and roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Love the crunch of the coating and the tenderness of the chicken. Awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil
Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States