Southwest Steak Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I really liked the spicy flavor of this! It wasn't too overpowering but had just the right kick. I used left over steaks from our BBQ last night, and I used buttermilk instead of milk and egg because I found I did not have any egg. Thanks for the post! PS Also used a seasoned fry flour in place of the reg. flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I tried this when I came home from work tonight. I had cube steaks but wanted to try something different. I used the seasonings that I had, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Me and my boyfriend loved it!! I made gravy from the drippings in the pan and served with mashed potatoes. We will definitely do this again! Great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I thought this was great. My kids liked it, which makes all the difference. It wasn't time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conniegas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookhaven, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
wow! needed something last minute for unexpected dinner guests tonight and these little beauties were fast, easy, and completely addicting! The only thing I changed was a bit nicer cut of meat that I had on hand. Served with BBQ sauce and garlic ranch dressing for dipping (sides were carrots and mashed potatoes...easy, easy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
awesome and different. Erie, PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
My family loves these! We use Soul Seasoning instead of the mesquite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungrydad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Ah yes, another iteration of Finger Steaks, as originated at Mylo's Torch Cafe in Boise back in the '50s. Use any cut of red meat you like, I've had them with a LOT of different meats, including fresh Bear and Cougar steak. As finger food for a game, this makes just about enough for two guys. As a meal, for maybe 4 servings you need about three lb of twice fried French fries on a platter with the meat mounded on top. I LOVE these. I usually let mine rest in the refrigerator for about an hour after breading and before frying. Season with whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
These were great! We have a bunch of cube steak and this is one of the best recipes we have come across so far. With half the steak chunks, I marinated in the teriyaki sauce recipe (by Judy)from this site for 2 hours. With the other half I used a combination of Stubb's Bar-B-Q Spice Rub and McCormick Grill Mates Applewood Rub. Both versions were tasty and enjoyed by adults and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reardan, Washington, USA
Living In: Ritzville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
ever since the first time i made these for my boyfriend, he requests them ALLL the time! i dont even measure anymore and i just adjust to how spicy WE like them. YUMMY YUMMY. i ALWAYS make gravy with the drippings from when I'm finished frying them and usually serve them with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Everyone really liked these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States