Southwest Steak Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was very good and my whole family loved them! I added corn starch to the flour mixture and then let the steak sit for a few minutes before frying them. This helped the flour and seasoning stick to the meat while frying. A trick I learned watching TFN channel! Will definately have these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethlehem, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
My family loved this recipe. It was very simple and quick to make and a fun finger food to eat, especially for the kids. I deep fried these in my mini Daisy Deep Fryer (approx. 3 min. per batch) and they came out great. The prep time and the cooking time in the original recipe is overstated. I had these done from start to finish in less than 30 minutes, so don't let the time needed to make this recipe scare you. I didn't change the seasonings recommended, they were fine. Be sure to cut the meat into 1x1 inch pieces, no larger, because you want it to be like popcorn steak bites. Overall, this is a great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
awesome and different. Erie, PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I wasn't impressed. It definatly needs something to give it more flavor. When i dropped it into the oil, all the flour and spices came right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeddyB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I thought that this was a good base for a recipe... I found that with any red meat that more egg=better hold on the spices and flour, i also marinated the steak with a montreal steak rub for an hour before breading and frying... it did say feel free to "play" with the seasonings... over all a good recipe that i will try again and again till perfected...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This was pretty good, but just a bit too time consuming for me. I will just continue to make chicken fried steak out of the cube steak, although, a nice 'twist' for cube steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
These were pretty good. They were a different version of chicken nuggets, but with cube steak. I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These were very easy! I added taco seasoning instead of mesquite. Also omitted the cayanne pepper. Next time will try with ranch seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThoseCrazySims

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA
Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I really liked the spicy flavor of this! It wasn't too overpowering but had just the right kick. I used left over steaks from our BBQ last night, and I used buttermilk instead of milk and egg because I found I did not have any egg. Thanks for the post! PS Also used a seasoned fry flour in place of the reg. flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Ah yes, another iteration of Finger Steaks, as originated at Mylo's Torch Cafe in Boise back in the '50s. Use any cut of red meat you like, I've had them with a LOT of different meats, including fresh Bear and Cougar steak. As finger food for a game, this makes just about enough for two guys. As a meal, for maybe 4 servings you need about three lb of twice fried French fries on a platter with the meat mounded on top. I LOVE these. I usually let mine rest in the refrigerator for about an hour after breading and before frying. Season with whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States