Southwest Steak Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This was pretty good, but just a bit too time consuming for me. I will just continue to make chicken fried steak out of the cube steak, although, a nice 'twist' for cube steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
My family loved this recipe. It was very simple and quick to make and a fun finger food to eat, especially for the kids. I deep fried these in my mini Daisy Deep Fryer (approx. 3 min. per batch) and they came out great. The prep time and the cooking time in the original recipe is overstated. I had these done from start to finish in less than 30 minutes, so don't let the time needed to make this recipe scare you. I didn't change the seasonings recommended, they were fine. Be sure to cut the meat into 1x1 inch pieces, no larger, because you want it to be like popcorn steak bites. Overall, this is a great recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I didn't care for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and the steak not very tender. It was time consuming and not worth the effort. My whole family was just so..so about it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I tried this when I came home from work tonight. I had cube steaks but wanted to try something different. I used the seasonings that I had, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Me and my boyfriend loved it!! I made gravy from the drippings in the pan and served with mashed potatoes. We will definitely do this again! Great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This wasn't bad...nice for a change once in a while...I used Beef Round Cubes and beef was nice and tender ...a little spicy...next time I'll use less spice...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Mahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Made with 2 pound measurments. I would 1 1/2 all ingredients except flour. I salt later. Cayenne pepper to taste. After frying, sprinkle with kosher salt. Alittle Worcestershire sauce for dippin, a beer and football, whats better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I thought this was great. My kids liked it, which makes all the difference. It wasn't time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conniegas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookhaven, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I really liked the spicy flavor of this! It wasn't too overpowering but had just the right kick. I used left over steaks from our BBQ last night, and I used buttermilk instead of milk and egg because I found I did not have any egg. Thanks for the post! PS Also used a seasoned fry flour in place of the reg. flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
all around good flavor. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *mary*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntley, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Not bad but a bit weird . . . again a texture thing, as I only think that a great quality meat may be used for this recipe, but if I purchase a grand cut of meat, I would rather have a nice grilled steak. I wouldn't avoid this recipe, but I feel that the use is based on the preparer's butcher habits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States