Southwest Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
A bit of flour stirred into the sauce helps with the watery factor for squash dishes, but truthfully we found this dish to be quite bland. It really needed a healthy dose of bold spices to jazz up a plain cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Loved it! It does take awhile to prep it all and I did add a can of drained black beans like someone mentioned. Also cooked it in the oven and used some of the cheese to sprinkle on top of the tortilla chips..HMMMM My husband and I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NannyTrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saluda, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Delicious! I used fat-free sour cream, added left over cauliflower, fresh tomatoes, fresh spinach, left off taco chips and jalapenos, added a dash of red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Great option for all the summer squash we have in our garden...always looking for a new recipe. We baked it in the oven and followed the original recipe ingredients. Might add tomatoes or black beans next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Excellent change of pace for squash. I added a drained can of black beans which made it a potential main dish and tasted great! I also baked at 350 for about 40 minutes and added a teaspoon of garlic powder, and I think fresh tomatoes would also be an excellent addition. It did come out a little watery from the vegetables cooking down, and I want to try throwing in a little flour or cornstarch next time to try to combat that, but this is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I thought this was a great recipe. I baked it like someone else mentionioned, and the squash stayed alittle crispy. I also added some fresh tomatoes. I used half the amount of sour cream and cheese it called for and it wasn't watery at all. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I lightened this up with reduced fat cheese and fat free sour cream. the sour cream probably made it a ilttle watery but overall tasted pretty good and had quite a bite to it (in a good way). Good recipe to use up extra squash from the garden. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShortCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
As it is written this recipe sucks. I ebe tried sauteign the mushrooms, red peppers and onions in olive oil and garlic. I guess if you want a squash dish that squishes the flavor this would be the one for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I used this great idea for my casserole tonight. Sliced squash, mushrooms, onions, and jalapenos with sour cream, salsa and cheese. Topped with a mixture of breadcrumbs and tortilla chips. I modified it to accomodate what ingredients I had on hand. I also didn't microwave it; baked at 350 until squash was tender. Thanks so much for this tasty alternative to bland, mushroom soup squash casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States