Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was so easy to make and had a lot of flavor. I stuck to the recipe as written, and had enough sauce left over to make a spanish omelette the next day. It was really good. If you're looking for a quick, tasty way to prepare chicken, I would recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was very bland and the chicken turned out somewhat rubbery and flavorless. I ended up just eating the toppings and leaving the chicken behind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
i served the chicken by itself, it had enough flavoring from cooking with the other ingredients all day. as a side i served brown rice and poured the southwest mixture over it and topped with low fat sour cream. i also substituted garbonzo beans, sounded wierd, but it was all we had and it was actually perfect with it! i cant believe it but my 5 and 2 year old loved it! it was sooo flavorful and delicous!!! this is a must for the weekly menu! it was simple and fast to make and my whole family loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Great, simple recipe. I followed the recipe as is except for subbing cumin for a tablespoon of taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Very Good! Added some things due to some folks saying it was bland. I made the chicken in the oven wrapped tightly in foil (350 for 50 min) with salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, a little cayenne and a drizzle of olive oil. Always comes out juicy and tender for whatever recipe or just by itself. I cooked some chopped onion and green pepper in a pot until onion was translucent, added juice from the diced tomatos and then about 3 chopped garlice cloves. Once that cooked a bit, I added everything else and shredded the chicken with 2 forks and added that. It seemed kind of dry so I added about 1/2 a can of chicken broth (14.5 oz). We ate on soft tortillas with lettuce. I'm sure adding sour cream and cheese would put it over the top, but we are trying to get rid of those extra holiday pounds. My hubby was poking around in the pot and said, "You put beans in this??". I explained we are dieting and they are filling. He ended up having two helpings. I would definitely make again. Thanks Tamcattt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Just made this dish with the added onions, garlic and chili powder. I'm glad I did so but it was still kind off bland for me and my husband. Just seemed like it needed something more. I will probably make again but with more seasonings next time. Overall, it's an okay meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmarshmom
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Lighter than the typical mexican foods we eat, but still filling and satisfying. I added some salsa, red onion and garlic at the start of simmering. 5 minutes before done sprinkled with mexican spices and chopped cilantro. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Great dish, it just needed a little more flavor . I added extra chili powder, garlic and extra pepper and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I love this recipe; super easy, even a beginner like me could do it! I made one change, I put the can of tomatoes and green chile into my Magic Bullet to puree it -- I'm a texture eater and cannot stand to bite into a tomatoe! It made it a tiny bit soup, but I was still able to eat the meal with a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Well, let me say, this was a bit of a let down after reading the 7 out of 8 - 5 star reviews on the first page. I am with the one reviewer who said this is bland. I stuck with the original recipe, then added the cumin, then paprika, then some oregano and some salt, and chili powder. Still smelled just ok, (you know how you can tell by the scent of something on the stove it needs more umph). Well I added 2-3 Tbsp of homemade taco seasoning, and hoped for the best. My kids liked it. (Amazingly since one doesn't like beans and the other doesn't like corn!) My dad thought it was just ok, my husband and I.. well... it wasn't bad or gross, it just wasn't good. Served with side of rice and warm tortillas and shredded cheese. I'm not even sure at this point what would make this 'better'. There's a Mexican Casserole recipe from this site that I make all the time, the only difference: that's with ground beef (or I use turkey), no corn and a can of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soldiersgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States