Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is a great recipe to serve as a main dish, shred the chicken for a salad, or use in a tortilla. You can also modify the recipe by adding jalapenos (minus the seeds for me!), chili powder, onion, green/red peppers, using whatever beans you have on hand, or cooking the chicken with fresh garlic. Also, fresh corn scraped off the cob adds incredible flavor. As is, this recipe is great, but you can also use it as a springboard to create other variations. I make this for my husband because he has to eat low fat, but it has tons of flavor. He loves it. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is a simple -- very simple -- recipe. Followed it pretty closely, using a third less oil, sweating 1/4 cup onion and 2 cloves of garlic before adding the chicken (given other reviewers' suggestions). DH was not particularly impressed; to be honest, neither was I for a main course. But it's a good lunch when you want something relatively healthy and relatively quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Was very tasty, but would have been better in a tortilla as a chicken soft taco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZsGirl830

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was good and also reasonably quick to prepare. I used butter instead of vegetable oil added fresh garlic and onion sauteed until translucent and then browned the chicken. 1/2 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of New Mexico chili powder and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was an excellent base recipe. Per the suggestion of other reviewers, sauteed onion and garlic in the oil first, and then added other ingredients. I would recommend adding a tad more seasoning-- I used a little taco seasoning, and a few hits of chipotle poweder and chili powder as well as the suggested cumin. I also chopped the chicken into small pieces, and served the dish with Mexican-style rice-a-roni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was very good! I made it and put inside of tortilla shells with a pinch of cheese to make quesedillas. It would also make a great starter for soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
From a family who does not usually eat beans, this recipe is a KEEPER! It is delicious and easy. I do add a second can of tomatoes with chile's for a bit more flavor and juice. Yummy, easy and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was really easy and really good! I did have some diced onions on hand and also seasoned the chicken with garlic salt and cayenne paper. Thats all I did extra! We ate wrapped in tortillas and sprinkled with cheddar cheese! Supper yummy! Husband really liked :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by bluelagooniesd
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was an easy weeknight dinner. I added a LOT more spice than suggested, and it went over pretty well. I found that it had to cook a bit longer than directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluelagooniesd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made this with the additions that were recommended by many, but as a vegetarian, I used Quorn Chik'n tenders. Browned them a bit just as the recipe called for for chicken. WOW! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

A healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States