Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Made this tongiht and it was great. I cooked it in the crock pot for 4 hours on high and added maybe a 1/2 c water to it. I added more cumin, chilli powder, garlic salt and 1/2 onion and cilantro. Topped with cheese and more cilantro (I love it!) I also added more salt. It just needed something. A lemon or lime might have been good but my husband hates it when I add that. Very good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
It didn't have enough spice for me. It seemed a bit bland. Perhaps I should of added more, or something else to it. I may try it again, but next time add more of a twist to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I make a recipe very similar to this, but instead of a can of tomatoes with green chilies, I use a jar of salsa. That might help with some of the other users that thought this recipe was too bland. Serve with rice and it's a super quick and healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great recipe!! Didn't change much, seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, and poultry seasoning; then seasoned the simmering mixture with chili powder and served with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was okay. We ended up eating it on tortillas because it fell all apart. It was the same as burritos but with chicken. Not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I felt this was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Yumm!! This has become a regular dish for our family! It is great with white rice cooked in onion soup mix. I add cilantro and lime. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I found this to be kind of on the bland side. I even added onion, garlic and chili powder. My kids loved it. And, it was easy b/c I threw it all in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pacific, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My kids don't ever like beans or tomato sauces but they loved this meal. I made some changes based on the reviews I read. I added onions, garlic powder, chili powder, pepper, minced garlic, and more cumin. We ate this with some rice and used a few corn chips over it. Very good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I just made this and so good. I only used 2 chicken (that is what I had defrosted) and used a can of mild chili beans instead of black (that is what I had) I drained but didn't rinse because I wanted the chili flavor. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teetee830

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States