Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Delicious! I cubed the chicken as others had done. I do think next time I'll use 2 breasts next time because DH and I loved the bean mixture! I added a bit more cumin and about 1/4 tsp of chili powder, added some green pepper and frozen corn instead of canned. Served it over rice and dinner was a hit! I rated this 4 stars rather than 5 since I didn't cook it as directly, but it's 5 stars with the additions! Definitely keeping this in the dinner rotation! Thanks Tamatt for a great dinner recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was very good. I seasoned the chicken heavily with chili powder before cooking. after mixing everything together, I put a little bit of rice in it to soak up the juices. I was going to serve it with some rice, but then my husband and I got carried away with dipping into it with tortilla chips. Before we knew it...it was all gone. And then he requested it as a dip for a football party. That's approval from him if I ever saw it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
So easy to make and sooo delicious! We can't wait to have the left overs :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was very easy to make. I went ahead and shreddedand cooked the chicken and then just heated everything through. I served over rice with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Really blah as written - I will try this again and take other reviewer's advice to spice it up with some onion, garlic, hot salsa, cayenne, and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
A new family favorite! It is a weekly repeat for us now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANN945N

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
THIS RECIPE AS WRITTEN WAS VERY BLAND FOR US.. FOR THIS I GAVE IT 3 STARS.. AFTER TASTING, THESE ARE MY ADDITIONS- ADDED DRY ONIONS, MINCED GARLIC, CHILI POWDER, MORE THAN A DASH OF CUMIN, SALT AND PEPPER.. EXTRA CAN OF PINTO BEANS.. SERVED OVER BROWN RICE.. VERY HEALTHY AND DELICIOUS... WILL MAKE AGAIN WITH ALTERATIONS... THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Very enjoyable, the chicken came out very moist and tender. I sauteed some onions and garlic in the oil prior to browning the chicken, which I seasoned with salt and pepper. I upped the cumin to about 1tsp, added 1/2 tsp chili powder and 1/4 tsp of cayenne. Served with brown rice. I imagine that a dollop of cool sour cream with some minced cilantro would also be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Excellent dish! Just the right amount of flavor, but still light and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Added some extra cumin, chili powder and onion powder and topped with a little shredded cheese. Next time will try adding bell peppers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beach lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

A healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States