Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This recipe is GREAT! I did make a few changes: I diced up some onion and garlic and sautéed it in the oil. Then I cut the chicken breasts into bite size pieces and sprinkled some hot chili powder on the chicken pieces prior to browning. I then added the tomatoes with green chili peppers, beans and I used frozen corn and it turned out fantastic. I did try to freeze it and it freezes really good. However, I would suggest if you do freeze it you may want to add the beans in closer to the end of the cooking time because mine were a little soft after reheating. GREAT DISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
EXCELLENT! Per other reviewers, I used northern beans instead of black beans, added some minced garlic, onion powder, all-season salt & chili powder. Sprinkled some mexican-blend cheese overall. Served over "Onion Rice," also found on this site and the combo of flavors was great! Thanks Tammy! This one is worth repeating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Great recipe! One morning I threw frozen chicken breasts into my slow cooker along with most of the other ingredients listed in this recipe, and ended up with a most delicious soup. I did make my own black beans, adding them to the slow cooker a couple of hours later; I also added 1/2 cup of uncooked white rice and some smoked sausage...turned out great. If the chicken hadn't been frozen, I would have tried the recipe as written; I will do that next time because it sounds wonderful. Thank you for this delicious, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I'm rating this 5 stars because the corn & bean mixture was great--that is, after I spiced it up a bit. Added a 4 oz can diced chiles, a bit more cumin, 3 cloves of garlic, chili powder, & some chopped onions. I tried to spice up the chicken, but it was still a little blah. Next time, I think I'll make margarita grilled chicken & serve with the beans & corn mixture from this recipe as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This is a great recipe! It was simple and fun! I used chicken tenders that cook quickly, and seasoned the chicken while browning. I used a bit of mined garlic, onion powder, chili powder, and season salt just for a little more flavor. I also added half a jalepeno and a bit of cilantro toward the end for an extra kick. I shreaded the chicken and served in on tortillas with cheese. All of my roommates thought it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Really, really good - and easy. I didn't have any tomatoes with chilies, so I just used medium salsa and it came out great. It got rave reviews from the husband and child. It's very similar to a recipe I used in Weight Watchers, but much more moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is a great recipe, something different for once! Reading some of the other reviews, I added garlic and chili powder, then cut the chicken into cubes so it soaked up more flavor. A great crock-pot recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I too seasoned the meat before browning it(I cubed the chicken). I used garlic, onion,& chili powder's, pepper, and Adobo. I browned the chicken in olive oil, then removed from pan. I sauteed half an onion with 2 garlic cloves and threw all the rest in the pan. I added some additional chili powder, red pepper, and half a teas. of chipolte sauce. I had to leave suddenly, so I pulled out the crock pot and dumped it all in on low. 2 hours later-served it to some friends and got raves all around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Great recipe, but it does need some spicing up as other reviewers have noted. I added onion, garlic, more cumin, chili powder and oregano. Also used chicken thighs instead (seasoned these first as others suggested), and added an extra can of black beans because we love black beans. Great one pot meal. Served it with yellow rice and cilantro. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Dish had great flavor to it, but the consistency wasn't quite what I was expecting (looked nothing like the picture, and I followed the recipe to a tee). My husband and I both enjoyed it even though it didn't have a good presentation. I think next time I'd coat the chicken in flour and brown like that first, and maybe use taco seasoning instead of the cumin. Overall, a good, very easy to make recipe I'll definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States