Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was really easy and really good! I did have some diced onions on hand and also seasoned the chicken with garlic salt and cayenne paper. Thats all I did extra! We ate wrapped in tortillas and sprinkled with cheddar cheese! Supper yummy! Husband really liked :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by bluelagooniesd
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was an easy weeknight dinner. I added a LOT more spice than suggested, and it went over pretty well. I found that it had to cook a bit longer than directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluelagooniesd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made this with the additions that were recommended by many, but as a vegetarian, I used Quorn Chik'n tenders. Browned them a bit just as the recipe called for for chicken. WOW! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was so easy to make and had a lot of flavor. I stuck to the recipe as written, and had enough sauce left over to make a spanish omelette the next day. It was really good. If you're looking for a quick, tasty way to prepare chicken, I would recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was very bland and the chicken turned out somewhat rubbery and flavorless. I ended up just eating the toppings and leaving the chicken behind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
i served the chicken by itself, it had enough flavoring from cooking with the other ingredients all day. as a side i served brown rice and poured the southwest mixture over it and topped with low fat sour cream. i also substituted garbonzo beans, sounded wierd, but it was all we had and it was actually perfect with it! i cant believe it but my 5 and 2 year old loved it! it was sooo flavorful and delicous!!! this is a must for the weekly menu! it was simple and fast to make and my whole family loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Great, simple recipe. I followed the recipe as is except for subbing cumin for a tablespoon of taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Very Good! Added some things due to some folks saying it was bland. I made the chicken in the oven wrapped tightly in foil (350 for 50 min) with salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, a little cayenne and a drizzle of olive oil. Always comes out juicy and tender for whatever recipe or just by itself. I cooked some chopped onion and green pepper in a pot until onion was translucent, added juice from the diced tomatos and then about 3 chopped garlice cloves. Once that cooked a bit, I added everything else and shredded the chicken with 2 forks and added that. It seemed kind of dry so I added about 1/2 a can of chicken broth (14.5 oz). We ate on soft tortillas with lettuce. I'm sure adding sour cream and cheese would put it over the top, but we are trying to get rid of those extra holiday pounds. My hubby was poking around in the pot and said, "You put beans in this??". I explained we are dieting and they are filling. He ended up having two helpings. I would definitely make again. Thanks Tamcattt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Just made this dish with the added onions, garlic and chili powder. I'm glad I did so but it was still kind off bland for me and my husband. Just seemed like it needed something more. I will probably make again but with more seasonings next time. Overall, it's an okay meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmarshmom
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Lighter than the typical mexican foods we eat, but still filling and satisfying. I added some salsa, red onion and garlic at the start of simmering. 5 minutes before done sprinkled with mexican spices and chopped cilantro. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States