Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Great dish, it just needed a little more flavor . I added extra chili powder, garlic and extra pepper and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I love this recipe; super easy, even a beginner like me could do it! I made one change, I put the can of tomatoes and green chile into my Magic Bullet to puree it -- I'm a texture eater and cannot stand to bite into a tomatoe! It made it a tiny bit soup, but I was still able to eat the meal with a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Well, let me say, this was a bit of a let down after reading the 7 out of 8 - 5 star reviews on the first page. I am with the one reviewer who said this is bland. I stuck with the original recipe, then added the cumin, then paprika, then some oregano and some salt, and chili powder. Still smelled just ok, (you know how you can tell by the scent of something on the stove it needs more umph). Well I added 2-3 Tbsp of homemade taco seasoning, and hoped for the best. My kids liked it. (Amazingly since one doesn't like beans and the other doesn't like corn!) My dad thought it was just ok, my husband and I.. well... it wasn't bad or gross, it just wasn't good. Served with side of rice and warm tortillas and shredded cheese. I'm not even sure at this point what would make this 'better'. There's a Mexican Casserole recipe from this site that I make all the time, the only difference: that's with ground beef (or I use turkey), no corn and a can of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soldiersgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bribabe7065

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Made this as written and it is good. I'm not a fan of 'southwest' foods but my husband loves it so I decided to make it. I'm glad I did because it was a nice change to what we normally have and he really loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was very good and very easy! I used a can of Rotel tomatoes with lime and cilantro and we really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
so i made some adjustments. I added a bit of taco spice instead of cumin. I then stuffed it in pita and added fat free sour cream and toasted it. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I was very happy with this recipe. It is so easy and quick to make and tastes great. I made it as written and didn't feel like I needed to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
My husband didn't find this dish all that exciting but I thought it was pretty good. I used fresh corn and added lots of onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder and extra cumin. As another reviewer suggested, I served it over Onion Rice (from this website).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Overall, a very easy and simple meal that has good flavor. As others have noted, I did saute onion and garlic with the chicken. I will definately be making this again, but maybe try marinating the chicken beforehand to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States