Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I sliced the chicken after cooking it then let simmer together until the juice was almost gone. Added more cumin and some chili powder and served in corn tortillas. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
It was alright. I added the spices to the meat rather than at the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfisher80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
We loved this recipe. Really full of flavor. I used different sized cans and it all worked out. The corn was 15.25 oz, the diced tomatoes were 14.5oz Muir Glen brand with medium green chilies and I used 14 oz of chicken because that's all I had. I diced the chicken just speed things up and served with farro. Really yummy, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I added onion as others suggested and sautéed as chicken browned. I used Rotel tomatoes with chiles and it was plenty spicy for us. Also used frozen corn - a can full - can from black beans. I cooked for awhile without lid to absorb some of the juice. We liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Very easy to make and did not take long either. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 due to fact that I had to tweak it a little to suit our tastes. The changes I made included adding a can of green chiles, adding 1 Tbsp. of chili powder and used about 1 to 1-1/2 tsp. cumin instead of the pinch as called for. These few additions seemed to make a world of difference, at least for our family it did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Awesome! Will definitely become a staple. I followed the recipe, but added a couple drops of habanero hot sauce to spice it up a bit, no chili powder, garlic, or onion like others have. You should make this tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Needed salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I guess I used this recipe as more of a guide. I didn't have any chili peppers, but I did add about a teaspoon of chili powder to spice it up a bit, as well as a couple garlic cloves. I also am not able to find black beans where I live, so I replaced them with kidney beans. Served it with rice. Overall, it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I sauteed onions and garlic when browning the chicken. This was delicious and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 451) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

Healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States