Southwest Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
The only reason it got a 5 is b/c I added salt, pepper, and cumin to my chicken WHILE it was cooking. I wouldn't recommend cooking any chicken without any seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Kind of bland. I think with a a heavier hand for spices, this dish would be quite goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Bayless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Quick, easy and incredibly tasty. This one is a definitely a keeper! I recommend using Frys/Kroger brand Fire Roasted salsa style canned tomatoes if you can find them. They add some kick to anything you cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Great basic recipe! Made a few alterations, I added some chili powder and shredded my chicken, along with other viewer suggestions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Added chili powder, more cumin and one packet of Goya Sazon seasoning. Frozen corn in the last 5 minutes and serve with brown rice. Really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry ny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Not only is this a great meal, the beans are awesome the next morning with a fried egg on top with warm tortillas. If you want more flavor, try adding some tomato bullion (found in the Mexican aisle, if they also carry Herdez brand salsa casera 2 cans are perfect). This is a staple recipe at our house. Marinating the chicken in some of the salsa for a few hours beforehand makes it even nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Had a ton of flavor! I did add more cumin and some chili powder. I put this in low carb flour tort. and served with a fresh spinach leaves with cilantro lime dressing (also from this site) and avacados on the side. Very good and healthy...will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Fantastic weeknight meal. I printed this awhile ago but hadn't tried it yet until this past week. We were particularly busy and I was looking for something quick. Didn't really change anything except I cut the chicken into bite size cubes to make it cook quicker. Also seasoned the chicken with some mexican seasoning before cooking and used frozen corn instead of canned (just what I happened to have). Thanks will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I really thought my family would like this....they didn't...It just wasn't a good flavor combination for us. I tend to really enjoy things with these ingredients....it just didn't blend well for us. Super bland and just didn't have that wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conestoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pequea, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I made this recipe as stated except I cut up the chicken so I could use it on tortilla shells, 2 cans of tomatoes diced and 1 small can of diced green chilies. It was rather bland at first. So I added chili powder, curry, garlic powder, 1/4 c salsa, pepper, and 1 TBLS of lime juice. Also next time I will make sure to drain my tomatoes or add a thickener as it was really runny for making burritos. Otherwise, my family really liked it and I will definitely make again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Chicken

A healthy, hearty Southwest chicken with black beans, green chilies, and corn.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States