Southwest Chicken and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very good! Would rate a 4 1/2 if I could. Used Mini Fusilli pasta, which when I put the water on to boil, I added broccoli and diced red pepper to the water, and when the water boiled, I put in the pasta and only cooked for 4 min. Drained and then placed in a lightly greased 9x13 pan. I put the cooked cubed chicken on top, then the soup mix on top of that, then covered with the parmesan cheese and baked 325 for 45 min as the other reviewer did. It was Great! If you want a lil kick - put some red pepper in the soup mix and if you want it soupier, don't use 3 full cups of pasta. If you want more veggies - I added some fiesta corn and black beans to the soup mix also. Nice recipe to play with! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Loved this. Also added canned corn, cooked black beans, and cumin after I had cooked up the cubed chicken. Layered pasta on the bottom, chicken & veggies on top, poured cream mixture on top & combined ... sprinkled lots of parm cheese and put into oven for about 45min ... my picky kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was good! I didn't change the ingredients, but I did change the way I cooked it. I used boneless chicken breasts that I cubed and then browned, and added the green pepper after the chicken was almost done so it didn't get overcooked. I then added the soup, milk and salsa and simmered while the pasta cooked (and I used penne because that's what I had on hand, and a little less than what the recipe called for because I like it a little saucier). I also used frozen chopped broccoli, and added that to the chicken mixture just to heat through. Added the cooked and drained pasta to the chicken, and it was done. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very good! Loved the added veggies (kids thought there were a lot but they ate them). Husband and I thought it needed a bit more flavor. May try Rotel instead of salsa next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
very good. my husband is a pasta salad fan and he liked this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Great, easy starting point for a yummy dinner. I used penne pasta, hardly any cheese, and I baked it as others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spangle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
really nice, I did what others did and only boiled the pasta and veg for 4 mins then drained. I cooked the diced chicken with a diced onion and 3 garlic cloves minced. Then mixed the pasta veg, chicken and sauce together, sprinkled cheese on top and baked in the oven until it was cooked through... @35 mins, the only thing I would change would be to mix in some cheese before baking and not just have it on top...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Wonderful!! I omitted the broccoli and decided to poach my chicken (makes for a more moister chicken). I used regular shredded sharp cheddar cheese and mixed it in at the end and let it melt all throughout so that the dish would have more of a mexican flair. Great hit at our house. Great served with bread and salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
wow... I was running late making hubby lunch for work so I pulled this recipe up and had it fixed in no time... Hubby loved it and so did the kids. I doubled the sauce because we like lots and I used whole wheat Penne pasta because its what I had on hand. Very good and easy to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Made this tonight. Pretty good! I used cream of chicken w/herb soup instead of cream of mushroom because my boyfriend doesn't like mushrooms. I too added parmesan cheese in the sauce and at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States