Southwest Chicken Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This was very good. I did add some taco seasoning to the chicken to give it a more southwest flavor and some kick. Love the combo of lettuce and cabbage-took then both from packaged bags so it was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was a BIG hit with my family! I was more generous with the cheese & used leftover grilled chicken, but other than that I followed the recipe. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRAJAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is a very good salad, Butter1! Its one of those recipes that you can dress up or dress down. I had some friends coming for lunch so I used 1/4 head purple cabbage for color, fresh romaine, chopped an avocado into chunks, mixed the chip pieces, beans, corn, red onion slices, 1/4 red bell pepper rather than green, and cooked the chicken in taco seasoning before combining it with the salad ingred. For dressing, I elected to use a good quality Caesar Dressing to which I add a bit of taco seasoning and lots of cumin to taste. I like the extra zip this dressing gives to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This is so good and so easy to make. It's like a restaurant salad! My husband loved it and has requested it since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This WAS like a restaurant quality salad! To make it quick and easy, I used pre-cooked chicken strips, and then just browned them up in a cast-iron skillet with some fajita seasoning (gave the chicken a fabulous crust!). Then I mixed all the salad ingredients in a bowl, using romaine lettuce, arugula and some baby lettuces and added corn, red bell pepper, grape tomatoes, red cabbage, shallots (since I didn't have any red onion) and some light tortilla chips. I plated this mix and topped it with the black beans, chicken and cheese. Then I mixed together some homemade salsa and light ranch dressing and lightly drizzled this over the top for a spicy mexi-ranch style dressing. My husband and I thought this made a wonderful, quick and tasty dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
We really enjoyed this salad. I added Fajita seasoning to the beans and chicken, and that made it very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
NOTE CHANGES: I wanted to serve this as a cold salad, so I used home-canned chicken and black beans. I also didn't have any greens, so substituted bamboo shoots and water chestnuts for crunch. I also added a packet of taco seasoning mix. This recipe is a great springboard for swapping around ingredients, so don't get too hung up on the quantities or substitutions, and just make it with what you have on hand and save a trip to the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This was so good! And so easy. We loved it!I seasoned the chicken..and added cilantro to the salad mix & Served with fresh salsa. I don't eat chicken so I sliced some avocado and put on my salad in place of the chicken. This worked for us, as a meat eater and a vegetarian. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I cooked this and took it to my church for the women's meeting and the women loved it. They did not even put salad dressing on it. I will tell you that I cooked the chicken the same way that you cooked it on the Acapulco Chicken recipe. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Perfect summer salad. I added fresh cilantro in the salad. For dressing I used ranch and mixed taco sauce, cumin and chili powder with it. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States