Southwest Chicken Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I loved this but I changed a couple things. I cut the chicken into chunks and then cooked it in the salad dressing mix. Then I used 1/2 BBQ sauce and 1/2 Ranch dressing mixed together for the dressing. I fed my parents and my husband and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Wow this was excellent!! I added more cilantro, because i love lots! I added some olives and some more lettuce, because i was making for more people. I don't eat chips so I baked some whole grain tortillas with some seasonings till cruchy and put those on it. Very good if you are on the south beach diet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
We loved the salad! I used leftover mesquite marinated chicken. I might decrease the lime juice in the dressing to 3 Tbl. next time--and there will definately be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was a hit at dinner. Added a little more lime juice and sea salt. I added some corn as well. Next time I will add olives & red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
We all love love love this receipe. You can serve it so many ways...over tortilla chips, as a wrap in bread as a sandwich, taco salad filling.........thanx so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I just made this recipe and it was SO good. I used a Mexican cheese blend instead of parmesan cheese. I also marinated the chicken in the dressing and baked it, which made it very tasty. (I recommend making more dressing too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Delicious!!! Will definately be making this again. It's a very light and refreshing salad. I didn't have any cilantro so that's the only thing I left out. I also added a little garlic salt to the dressing. I seasoned a couple of thin chicken breasts with garlic salt, chile powder and cumin. I baked it for 20 min. at 350. I cut the chicken into slices and it was sooo good. The flavor went perfect with the salad. I left out the tortilla chips and cheese to make it healthier. My husband kept raving about it too. It's a keeper! Thank you for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Tasty! I made the salad dressing the night before. Increased the amount by half so I could marinate the chicken breast tenders overnight before grilling them on the stove in a grill pan. To give the dressing a little more kick, I cut the chili powder in half and added chipolte pepper . Added some corn leftover from corn on the cob and left out the chips and Parmesan b/c I didn't think the salad needed it. All of my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
The pictures do not do this justice, has amazing flavor. And another amazing thing, I had all the ingredients on hand. A great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I really enjoyed this salad. I made it the first time as is and felt the lime flavor was a little strong for my taste. I doubled the recipe and marinated the chicken overnight using half the dressing, as other users suggested. I also used less lime juice ( a little more than 1/4 cup because I doubled the recipe). I used about 3 cloves of garlic and more cilantro than called for - we love garlic and cilantro. I added corn and avocado to the salad, but I think I will cut the avocado, the parm cheese, and the chips next time to have a slightly healthier version of this salad. It has enough flavor on its own and is pretty substantial with the beans, added corn, and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph84106

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States