Southwest Chicken Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Southwest Chicken Salad I Haiku: "The dressing MAKES this. This salad was so awesome! (I made small changes.)" Couldn't have been more delighted w/ this salad! For a dinner-salad, I prefer something hot on top, so I warmed my pre-cooked and shredded chicken in a skillet w/ "Taco Seasoning I" and a little water. I also passed on Parmesan (these flavors didn't seem to jive w/ Parm) and used a Mexi-blend of cheese instead. Otherwise, I kept everything else the same, and devoured this. Next time, I'll "marinate" the beans, onion, and tomato in half of the dressing to absorb more of its awesomeness, and save the rest of the dressing for drizzling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was just okay for us. We didn't care for the dressing that much but I think that is just a personal preference. I marinated the chicken in the dressing as others suggested, and used a mix of romaine and iceberg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
The dressing is the best part. Very light tasting. Didn't shred the lettuce or use corn chips and still came out tasting great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I just loved this, the dressing in particular. I thought it might be a little heavy on the cilantro but it wasn't for me, although it was a little much for Hubs. I made the dressing following the recipe exactly and would do so again. For the salad itself, I would have appreciated the addition of corn which I had intended to do and forgot. I used shredded Cheddar cheese rather than the Parmesan because I felt it was a better match for this salad. Instead of crushed or whole tortilla chips I used tortilla strips specifically made for soups and salads. This salad has all the Southwest flavors I enjoy, right in one bowl. It's colorful, crunchy, festive, refreshing, nutritious and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I used Gardein Chick'n with just a couple of other changes and this recipe was SO GOOD. I changed the 1/4 cup of oil to only a couple tablespoons, omitted the Parmesan cheese, and used fresh lettuce from the backyard instead of the romaine. The seasonings were fabulous and it turned out wonderfully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Itasca, Illinois, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I really enjoyed this salad. I made it the first time as is and felt the lime flavor was a little strong for my taste. I doubled the recipe and marinated the chicken overnight using half the dressing, as other users suggested. I also used less lime juice ( a little more than 1/4 cup because I doubled the recipe). I used about 3 cloves of garlic and more cilantro than called for - we love garlic and cilantro. I added corn and avocado to the salad, but I think I will cut the avocado, the parm cheese, and the chips next time to have a slightly healthier version of this salad. It has enough flavor on its own and is pretty substantial with the beans, added corn, and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph84106

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
The pictures do not do this justice, has amazing flavor. And another amazing thing, I had all the ingredients on hand. A great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Very good salad. I made a few changes. Added cabbage instead of lettuce. Mixed in with the rest of the salad. Also added 2 ears of corn on the cob, and 2-3 avacadoes chopped. Used double to triple amount of garlic. I love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natali

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is good, but I must object to those who say it is "light". the fat content is not low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Tasty! I made the salad dressing the night before. Increased the amount by half so I could marinate the chicken breast tenders overnight before grilling them on the stove in a grill pan. To give the dressing a little more kick, I cut the chili powder in half and added chipolte pepper . Added some corn leftover from corn on the cob and left out the chips and Parmesan b/c I didn't think the salad needed it. All of my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States