Southwest Chicken Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Yum!! I used the white meat off a rotisserie chicken, just a little diced yellow onion instead of the red rings, and skipped the cilantro because I didn't have any. Excellent! Thank you for sharing. I made it again, and used diced chicken breast cooked with olive oil and a spice mixture from a friend (salt/pepper/garlic powder). I also switched out the parmesan with grated cheddar this time, and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This salad is awesome! The only thing I did differently was to make extra dressing and used some of it to marinate the chicken before roasting it. This is now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Outstanding! I doubled the dressing and marinated the chicken in half the dressing for an hour before cooking. I also added a can of corn and used the tri-color tortilla strips. I used shredded mexican cheese rather than parmesan. Everyone loved this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I, too, doubled the dressing and used half to marinate the chicken before cooking. The taste of the chicken was delicious. I found the dressing for the salad to be too much of a lime taste. I added a little sugar and it cut the acid in the lime and gave it a great flavor (I wouldn't suggest adding the sugar if you are marinating the chicken). I also added some sweet cooked corn to the salad along with black olives. I will use this recipe again for a healthy salad with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
We had this salad for dinner tonight and my husband went crazy over it and even went back for seconds! The only thing I did differently was add corn, avocado, and used cheddar cheese instead of parmesan. The dressing complemented this salad so well! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Refreshing, light and utterly delicious. My teenage sons actually beg me to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Wow, this dressing is amazing!!! I added some corn and avocado (it seemed fitting with the recipe). I also used sharp cheddar instead of the parmesan. Thanks so much for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Southwest Chicken Salad I Haiku: "The dressing MAKES this. This salad was so awesome! (I made small changes.)" Couldn't have been more delighted w/ this salad! For a dinner-salad, I prefer something hot on top, so I warmed my pre-cooked and shredded chicken in a skillet w/ "Taco Seasoning I" and a little water. I also passed on Parmesan (these flavors didn't seem to jive w/ Parm) and used a Mexi-blend of cheese instead. Otherwise, I kept everything else the same, and devoured this. Next time, I'll "marinate" the beans, onion, and tomato in half of the dressing to absorb more of its awesomeness, and save the rest of the dressing for drizzling on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was just okay for us. We didn't care for the dressing that much but I think that is just a personal preference. I marinated the chicken in the dressing as others suggested, and used a mix of romaine and iceberg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
The dressing is the best part. Very light tasting. Didn't shred the lettuce or use corn chips and still came out tasting great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States