Southwest Chicken Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
So good and easy! I was pleasantly surprised. I was out of salsa and sour cream so I substituted low fat cream cheese and Rotel. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Yum, yum, yum!! So simple & so tasty! Change-I doubled the cumin cuz I love it. I'm not sure the prebaking of the bottom crust is really necessary, tho, as it came out a little well done(hard to cut thru). I'll definately be making this on a regular basis-we all loved it!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
My Family really loved this pie. I used precooked chicken fajita meat instead of the breast and added some hot sauce for an extra kick. Overall this was a hearty satisfying easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getcookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josh's Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I thought this was an awesome meal. Not too hard to make and not very expensive either. I'm not a big pie crust fan, but this was definitely the exception. Only thing that wasn't noted, was to cook the chicken before you mix it with the other filling ingredients. I cooked mine in a skillet after seasoning the meat with chicken fajita seasoning. I also used regular long grain white rice, as I am too cheap to buy instant rice. I used about 1/2 cup dry to 1 cup of water and cooked for 15 minutes, then added to the filling. I figured this way, it wouldn't be all mushy after baking the pie. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I served this to company who absolutely loved it. To save time, I used a rotisserie chicken from the store. It really cut down on the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Awesome. Thanks! I used left over turkey from Thanksgiving and added a splash of hot sauce. Would have been great without hot sauce but I like adding it to almost everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Oh my gosh.....AMAZING! Will be making this over and over again! I did use precooked fajita chicken which made the prep easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Keeper!!!! I used ingredients I had on hand used extra this and that just the way I prefer to cook..This is great for using up leftovers you don't want to waste but no-one to eat them use this recipe to re-purpose them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was a delicious version of a pot pie. I had my mother in-law make me her homemade pie crust, and also used already marinade chicken from the meat counter at my local super market and the really added the extra taste to this. Also it is very important you use instant rice and not just regular. Regular rice will not cook in the bake time allowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennnYeee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobb, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was really delicious and so easy! I left out the olives and sauteed the chicken in fajita seasoning first. I didn't pre-bake the pie crust- it wasn't necessary. I've made it twice now, and the first time I didn't have sour cream so I used cream cheese. I think both ways turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacher who cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States