Southwest Chicken Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Josh's Mommy
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I thought this was an awesome meal. Not too hard to make and not very expensive either. I'm not a big pie crust fan, but this was definitely the exception. Only thing that wasn't noted, was to cook the chicken before you mix it with the other filling ingredients. I cooked mine in a skillet after seasoning the meat with chicken fajita seasoning. I also used regular long grain white rice, as I am too cheap to buy instant rice. I used about 1/2 cup dry to 1 cup of water and cooked for 15 minutes, then added to the filling. I figured this way, it wouldn't be all mushy after baking the pie. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
My Family really loved this pie. I used precooked chicken fajita meat instead of the breast and added some hot sauce for an extra kick. Overall this was a hearty satisfying easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getcookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
WOW!! This was VERY good! I'd say this is up in my top 3 of dinners from AR!! It had been on my menu for almost a month and kept getting pushed into the next week, so glad I FINALLY got to make it! I did make a few changes based on our personal preferences. I left out the black olives and the corn. Instead of Salsa I used 1/4C of Taco Sauce that needed to be used up. I also took the advice of Josh's Mommy and cooked my regular rice for 15minutes because I'm also to cheap to buy the instant rice! I threw in a handful of Monterey Jack Cheese that needed to be used up as well! I cooked the cubed chicken the night before and will do this next time as well but will shred it instead of cubing. This will definately be making it into the rotation of meals as we all enjoyed it! Thanks so much for such a simple recipe! :) **Note the chicken does need to be cooked prior to adding it to the pie and you'll need a full 8oz bag of cheddar cheese**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Oh my gosh.....AMAZING! Will be making this over and over again! I did use precooked fajita chicken which made the prep easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Keeper!!!! I used ingredients I had on hand used extra this and that just the way I prefer to cook..This is great for using up leftovers you don't want to waste but no-one to eat them use this recipe to re-purpose them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was good but a little bland. We added chipotle Tabasco and sour cream afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I really enjoyed this but my husband (who will eat almost anything) really disliked it. So I went for three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Yum, yum, yum!! So simple & so tasty! Change-I doubled the cumin cuz I love it. I'm not sure the prebaking of the bottom crust is really necessary, tho, as it came out a little well done(hard to cut thru). I'll definately be making this on a regular basis-we all loved it!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Very good...I shredded the chicken (which does need to be precooked), used cooked rice (because I wanted to use up extra rice I had in the fridge) and added a splash of hot sauce. This recipe is worth giving a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was really delicious and so easy! I left out the olives and sauteed the chicken in fajita seasoning first. I didn't pre-bake the pie crust- it wasn't necessary. I've made it twice now, and the first time I didn't have sour cream so I used cream cheese. I think both ways turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacher who cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States