Southwest Chicken Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
We *loved* this. Great flavor, very filling and easy to make. The filling dried out a little so will add another 1/4 cup of salsa next time. Tried it with a can of Rotel instead of the salsa and loved it more. Added 2 chicken breasts (not sure how much weight that ended up being), boiled with some salt, celery, onion, carrots and peppercorns then chopped. Cooked brown rice on the side (the full time, about a full cup of cooked rice) while the chicken was going - it added 20 minutes to the recipe but it was worth it. Added an extra half teaspoon of cumin because we also love it. Need to remember to prick a few fork holes into the crust (especially around the edge of the bottom) so that it doesn't shrink up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
We really enjoyed this! I forgot the seasoning altogether, and it didn't matter because I used good salsa. Also ended up with expired pie crusts that smelled funny, so I used refrigerated tortillas that you toast in a pan before using. I used 7 tortillas to cover the bottom of a 9x13 and threw a few on top to finish it off. My family said they loved the crunchiness of the tortillas, so I probably won't bother with the pie crusts again. Also, I cheated the filling in the microwave for 5 min before putting it in the pan, and then only cooked it about 20 min in the oven. Can't wait to see how the flavors blend for the left overs! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very good! I kind of added chili powder and adobo and other things here and there - still wish it had more kick. But overall, this was a hit in our family and not too hard to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I gave this 4 stars because I altered it a bit to give it more flavor. As other reviewers suggested, I used a fajita mix on my chicken. I cooked the chicken in a fry pan with the seasoning, then pull the chicken so it would have the "pulled" texture instead of cubed--personal preference. I also did not par-bake the crust--put everything in at once and baked it....yum...yum. DH loved it--so this will be something we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Loved this!!! Great way to change up regular pot pie. Very filling and delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Very tasty, everyone loved it. I left out the black olives, did not prebake the crust, doubled the cumin and added lots of Cholula hot sauce. Turned out great, but still not enough of a kick for this Arizona gal. Next time I will add diced jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
really good recipe especially if you doctor it with the season you like.The ones she mentioned are fine but when you add some chili powder and a touch of cajun seasoning then you have a great combo. But i did use my own savory pie crust recipe and not store bought crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was excellent! I didn't have olives and wanted a little zing so I added some banana peppers instead. I also added some Chipotle Tabasco as another reviewer suggested and it turned out delicious. I did forget the rice, unintentionally - but it turned out so well I would make it again the exacty same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Yummy, easy, and delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States