Southwest Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Pretty good casserole, and so easy to whip up. We topped it with sour cream. I think adding some taco seasoning would perk the flavor up a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is a good base recipe, I added 2 cans of soup, 1 can of corn and fresh chiclen breast chunks and I added cayenne pepper for a little more heat. I topped it off with a half cup of shredded cheddar cheese and baked it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. I would definitely would make this again. Even my fussy husband liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homemade1959

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I made this pretty close to as it was written. The only changes I made were that I used chicken breast I'd boiled myself and cut up, since I dislike canned meat, and I baked it at 350 for 25 minutes rather than microwaved. It was okay. It turned out fine and we ate it and liked it well enough, but it seemed to be missing something. My husband and I stirred in some salsa with ours and that helped a bit. I'll probably make this again, but I'll add either some corn or black beans, and something else for seasoning. I think a mixture of cheddar cheese and pepperjack cheese would be good. Overall, a quick and basic recipe that just needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlieJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I've made this a bit differently over the past few weeks. I've added 1 medium onion, a tablespoon of garlic, 1 can of mushrooms drained, and 1 can of corn drained. I put a little more green chile in it because I love the flavor. Sometimes I make it with tuna instead of chicken, but I've decided that I like 2 cans better than just 1. It makes it a little more hearty for not much more money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onecloudythought

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Thanks so much for this recipe. We moved into a new house and are without a stove for two weeks. Normally I find the texture of microwave food horrible...especially chicken. The canned chicken made it work. I love the flavour of the green chiles. My 2 year old kept asking for more chicken. I added two cans of chicken chunks since one didn't seem like enough...other than that I followed exactly. Quick and easy I will make this again even when I get my stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raspberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I like this recipe for how easy it is to modify. Like some others, I decided to bake instead of microwave. I also add black beans, onion, green pepper, jalapeno and red pepper flakes to kick up the spiciness. Again, a great recipe base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as written, but with tuna instead of chicken. Also, I baked mine covered in the oven at 375 for about 25 minutes. This is a great weeknight dinner because it is so easy and quick. Next time I think I will try cream of chicken or celery soup. Very versatile. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I thought that this recipe sounded so nice and quick and easy so I tried it and was so disappointed. It tastes awful and I used real chicken and real onion. I don't even know where to start to make this taste better, so I won't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This recipe was very easy & would have been very fast if I had used precooked chicken. (I didn't want to use the canned stuff.) I also made some changes, but only minor ones. I used cream of chicken soup (not everyone in the house likes mushrooms), omitted the chilies & used jalepeno montery jack cheese instead. I also threw in some medium cheddar cheese. We were amazed that this tasted so good! We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
I was very impressed with this recipe! My fiance loved it and I'm having the leftovers tonight for dinner. I will make this again for sure. It's sooo easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States