Southwest Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This was delicious and so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audra Duncan Ely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This was really good and super easy. I made it with green chilis rather than green onions. I also didn't have frozen corn so I used a can or corn with poblano peppers. And I misread the instructions and put the cooked rice at the bottom of the casserole pan and baked it all together. I figured it would soak up extra liquid, but it actually came out a bit watery (user error, I doubt the recipe as is has that issue). Was so good even despite the error! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asmith10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Devin
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Went with Spanish Rice and a little Red Pepper for spice, but was super easy. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Better than expected! Made it as directed except (a) didn't use the same brand of Taco Seasoning & Salsa (b) used breast instead of thighs and (c) made my black beans from scratch rather than out of a can. The casserole ended up with a little "juice" in the bottom which didn't look too appealing BUT worked great when serving over rice (Basmati is my choice of rice). For me, the oven time might be a tad shy. I baked for 30+ minutes at 350° until is was bubbling nicely around the edges then added the cheese and broiled for an additional 10 until it was golden brown. This recipe is SO simple and quick; perfect for the working family that prefers "real" food over processed frozen meals. Hint: Double the recipe so you don't have to cook tomorrow :-). I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I used extra dressing to cook the chicken and after picking out the chicken for the casserole, added the extra dressing to water and cooked the rice with it. Also used sour cream and green onions as a topping. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Walled Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This was really good. Had to give it only 4 stars because I really screwed up. I had decided on making this dish early in the day, so by 6:30pm when I started to making it I realized I didn't even have all the ingredients. Argh! So, I improvised and even with my screw up it was so good. I had to use red onion (didn't have green) and I cooked it with the chicken. Then I had no black beans, only non-fat refried. I smothered those on the bottom of the casserole, then topped with the chicken. We love corn so I used closer to 1 cup. Then I realized I only had about 2 Tbs salsa. So I substituted 3/4 a can of diced tomatoes with chili, garlic and cilantro and mixed in some more diced green chilis. Stuck that in the oven, covered. Then to top it off I only had Colby Monterey Jack, not Mexican, and served it over brown rice. But it all worked. You know its a great recipe when you can mess up and it still turns out good. I'm keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
The chicken turned out amazing and I might use it this way in other recipes. Quick and delicious, I'll definitely make this over and over again. Would be very easy to double the recipe for a larger family in a 9x13 casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I didn't have the pre-packaged taco seasoning mix, but All Recipes had a great, quick recipe with all the spices in my cabinet. This perfectly matched what I had available without having to go out and shop. Big hit with my boys who demanded a repeat performance next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Made this tonight and we loved it! I used boil in a bag whole grain wild rice boiling it halfway into the 20 min cooktime in the oven and everything was done at same time. We used two bags of the rice. Delicious. My husband added guacamole and we dipped some tortilla chips in it. I used a square 2qt glass baking dish and got 4 hearty servings out of this recipe. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States