Southwest Black Bean Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I love the flavor of this soup and the only change made was green chiles instead of jalepano. I was born and raised in Texas and am used to spicey food but found this soup to be too spicey even with this change. I will make this again without the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is a nice spicy soup without being overly spicy. I put everything in the crock last night and then put it in the fridge. This morning I popped it in the crockpot and turned it on. Next time I may leave out the corn until serving, to get a crunchy texture. My son suggested to add zucchini and squash chunks, about an hour before serving. I liked it and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Wow, we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Andrews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I added 1 pkg. of taco seasoning, 3 to 4 cups of V8 juice & a dash of cilantro. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Like the other reviews, I added the green pepper and only used half of the jalapeno, chili powder & red pepper. It had plenty of spice. I didn't use a slow cooker. I just cooked the chicken and then added to the rest of the ingredients. Cooked on the stove for about 30 minutes. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing the recipe and it was delicious :)I will definitely be making it again.....yum yum :) My husband & I had 2nd's :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I liked it a lot, but my kids (teens) found it too spicy, even though I only put in half the amount of red pepper flakes and no jalepeno pepper. Doesn't seem necessary to use the slow-cooker since the chicken has to be cooked first anyway, but would be convenient for a ski trip or a work day. A dollop of fat-free sour cream was a delicious complement to the spiciness of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Loved, loved loved it. Made without jalapeno, but we are from Minnesota so we go light when it comes to spices. Still plenty spicy with chili powder and red pepper flakes. Used ham instead of chicken. Wonderful the next day. Thanks for the great recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Made this without the jalapeno but added some leftover cooked brown rice the last hour ...about 1 1/2 cups...and it made it more like stoup. Sweet cornbread was a wonderful complement and made a filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
"Yummy soup" said my Graddaughter who loves soup. I made the soup just as the recipe read with 3 exceptions. No red pepper flakes, I added Elbow Macaroni and used breast meat from a rotisserie chicken I had left over (made it so much easier). Easy and delicious! With the skillet cornbread I made, it was the perfect winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States