Southwest Black Bean Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Awesome soup that my entire family loved, which includes 2 toddlers. So easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is good and hearty. I made this soup without the jalapenos and it was still very spicy. I recommend omitting the chili flakes, jalapenos and using only one teaspoon of chili powder. I also used fresh cilantro instead of coriander powder. Used both thigh meat and breast meat. Delicious!! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
used less chili peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I'm so glad I read many reviews that commented that this soup was overly spicy. Because of that, I cut the red pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon, used 1 mild and one regular can of rotel, and used 1 chopped jalapeno (about 1/4 cup, instead of 1/2 cup). It was still quite spicy (and I love spicy food). I added cheese and a couple of tablespoons of sour cream to each serving, which mellowed the spiciness. We liked it, but it was only OK. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made exactly as indicated. But if I make it again, I will definitely cut back on the cayenne pepper. It was way too spicey. With all the goodies in there, I expected more flavor. But the hot spice overpowered it totally. I am tempted to try adding something to offset the overpowering spice. It seems like lime juice would be good and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I love the flavor of this soup and the only change made was green chiles instead of jalepano. I was born and raised in Texas and am used to spicey food but found this soup to be too spicey even with this change. I will make this again without the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is a nice spicy soup without being overly spicy. I put everything in the crock last night and then put it in the fridge. This morning I popped it in the crockpot and turned it on. Next time I may leave out the corn until serving, to get a crunchy texture. My son suggested to add zucchini and squash chunks, about an hour before serving. I liked it and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Wow, we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Andrews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I added 1 pkg. of taco seasoning, 3 to 4 cups of V8 juice & a dash of cilantro. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Like the other reviews, I added the green pepper and only used half of the jalapeno, chili powder & red pepper. It had plenty of spice. I didn't use a slow cooker. I just cooked the chicken and then added to the rest of the ingredients. Cooked on the stove for about 30 minutes. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States