Southwest Black Bean Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Very good. Used 1/2 can corn, 2 cups mixed beans, 32 oz carton chicken stock, 1/2 cup water as substitutes. Spices used: cumin, chili powder, dab of jalapeño, pepper, and Ms. Dash Onion and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Delicious! Of course I made some edits, but still loved the base for the recipe. I didn't use any chicken (was running low on chicken so I wanted to conserve). Also I used three cans of chicken broth instead of two and cut the chili powder to one and a half teaspoon. My boyfriend has acid reflux issues so he can't do spicy so I also cut out the jalapenos, coriander (cause I didn't have any), and red pepper flakes. Alright, I made a lot of edits...but very delicious soup none the less! Just for those who are wondering, possibly, I also used all canned beans and they still came out great at the end, not mushy. Took moments to throw together and made A LOT of food, will probably have to pass some off to coworkers just so it doesn't go to waste. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I deboned a rotisserie chicken and used that for the chicken, so that was easy and flavorful. I will also say, I am a Louisiana girl, and this was almost too spicy for me! A spoonful of sour cream calmed it down, though, and it was very delicious. I also added cheese and some saltine crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Uyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
My family enjoyed this soup. It is quite spicy. I cut out the red pepper flakes and used 2 fresh jalapenos (seeded). We found that this was plenty of heat for us. I also simmered on stove instead of using crockpot and it was still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Letting this stay in the pot all day made the chicken juicy and tender. I left out the peppers and just half the chili powder which made it kid-friendly. My 9 year old gives it a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I have been making this soup for a few years. I always add a can of cream of chicken soup. It really enhances the flavor and makes the soup heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Venus, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Four stars. Like others here, I cut down on the heat. Since it takes several hours to cook you can season to taste as required. I reduced the amount of liquid, since I prefer a thicker stew. Also used a few small pieces of real chicken, skinless, bone in, instead of canned broth. These were added raw later in the cooking process, so the meat wouldn't disintegrate. Dried black beans work fine.It's easy to soak them overnight. It's not exactly the same recipe, but the spice profile is very similar, and that is what provides much of the flavour. Here's my changes: Sauté onion and garlic Add dried black beans soaked overnight and drained. One large can diced tomatoes. Water to cover by a half inch or so. You can always adding boiling water as needed. Add one or two small hot red peppers or jalapeños diced. 2.5 tsp chilli powder. Pinch of red pepper flakes. One tsp of ground cumin. A half teaspoon ground coriander. Salt and pepper to taste. Later in the cooking process add real raw chicken, bone in, if broth isn't being used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This is delicious! I did make a couple changes for what I had on hand. I used chopped chicken breast, kidney beans instead of black beans, and since I have a ton of tomatoes, used those instead of canned. Very easy, simple, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
turned out to be a favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States