Southwest Black Bean Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I didn't follow exactly..1 can of kidney beans, 1 rotel, 1 lg onion, 1 lg jalapeno, 1 bunch cilantro, no corn, doubled garlic, all else the same. Was going to do without chicken but found a few tenders in the freezer. Made stove top. Intensely flavored, will make again soon. Edit: made again with 2 red and 1 white kidney beans, added in some carrots, no meat. At least doubled spices, tripled coriander. Added in about half cup of masa mixed with water to add some body to the broth. Topped with sour cream this time but like it better without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Delicious! I did make some modifications... of course! I prefer white meat so I used chicken breasts. I substituted a can of mild green chiles for the jalapenos which added enough spice for me. I also used Goya Adobo seasoning in place of the cumin, salt and garlic. Other than that I followed pretty closely. I topped the bowls with cilantro as well as sour cream. Also gave people the option to use shredded cheddar/jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was really good. I made a couple changes. I used chicken breast, used one can of tomatoes with jalapenos (instead of using chopped jalapenos), added a chopped green pepper, and used 4 cans of beans instead of 3. Very easy and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
My husband and I both LOVED this! It was a little too spicy for me so I might tweak it a little next time but we will definately add this to the "Favorites" list =) Thank you! Andrew and Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This had okay flavor (heat but a little bland), and we liked the different textures of the ingredients but the base just wasn't there. Very thin and not enough of it. I made a half batch and got three bowl with very little broth and then about 3-4 cups of leftover "stuff" with no liquid. We used this part as a taco salad type topper and it would probably pair well over rice but I will freeze the rest and figure out what to do with it later. Made for recipe group 8-22.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 18, August 2012 ~ I halved this recipe but used 2 full cans of black beans, fresh corn and fresh tomatoes instead of canned. I added a can of green chilies to make up for missing chilies in the canned tomatoes. I did added extra chicken broth at the suggestion of linda2d and bellepepper. The soup was nice and filling, but we will enjoy it more when the temp isn't 88 degrees out as it was the night I made it. I served mine with a dollop of sour cream, my hubby crushed up tortilla chips in his. I've got a container froze to enjoy this for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Made this for *Recipe Group* 8-21-12 I halved this recipe. This soup is very tasty. The broth was thin and watery. DH really liked this. Simple to throw together. Served with Corn Bread. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McInerney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I made half of this recipe for Recipe Group this week. I did cut back on the red pepper flakes for Hubs’ sake. Due to some time constraints I made this over a two day period. The first day, I cooked it for 4 hours and finished it off the next day. I found that after the full amount of cooking time, I needed to add another can of chicken broth. I also made a roux with 3 T. of butter and 3 T. of flour, tempered it with some hot soup and added it to the pot. This gave the broth a little body without making the soup overly thick. We enjoyed this and although the flavor was good, next time I might add some taco seasoning to boost the flavor a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
My family and I enjoy spicy foods but found this soup to be much too spicy. I remedied this by adding a can of diced tomatoes and stirring in rice. The soup still had a significant "kick" to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cseguin
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I used less chicken broth by about half, to make a more chunky soup, and cut down on the chili powder and jalapenos as well. I also used breast meat instead of dark. A delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States