Southwest Black Bean Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Awesome soup that my entire family loved, which includes 2 toddlers. So easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is good and hearty. I made this soup without the jalapenos and it was still very spicy. I recommend omitting the chili flakes, jalapenos and using only one teaspoon of chili powder. I also used fresh cilantro instead of coriander powder. Used both thigh meat and breast meat. Delicious!! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
used less chili peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I'm so glad I read many reviews that commented that this soup was overly spicy. Because of that, I cut the red pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon, used 1 mild and one regular can of rotel, and used 1 chopped jalapeno (about 1/4 cup, instead of 1/2 cup). It was still quite spicy (and I love spicy food). I added cheese and a couple of tablespoons of sour cream to each serving, which mellowed the spiciness. We liked it, but it was only OK. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made exactly as indicated. But if I make it again, I will definitely cut back on the cayenne pepper. It was way too spicey. With all the goodies in there, I expected more flavor. But the hot spice overpowered it totally. I am tempted to try adding something to offset the overpowering spice. It seems like lime juice would be good and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I love the flavor of this soup and the only change made was green chiles instead of jalepano. I was born and raised in Texas and am used to spicey food but found this soup to be too spicey even with this change. I will make this again without the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is a nice spicy soup without being overly spicy. I put everything in the crock last night and then put it in the fridge. This morning I popped it in the crockpot and turned it on. Next time I may leave out the corn until serving, to get a crunchy texture. My son suggested to add zucchini and squash chunks, about an hour before serving. I liked it and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Wow, we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Andrews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I added 1 pkg. of taco seasoning, 3 to 4 cups of V8 juice & a dash of cilantro. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Like the other reviews, I added the green pepper and only used half of the jalapeno, chili powder & red pepper. It had plenty of spice. I didn't use a slow cooker. I just cooked the chicken and then added to the rest of the ingredients. Cooked on the stove for about 30 minutes. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States