Southwest Appetizer Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Steve Bell
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I really liked the "back door" warmth of this recipe but I recommend adding one 4 oz. can of diced jalapenos. There is plenty of fat in the cheeses to tone it down and we had adults and kids enjoying it. It would not have enough heat without in my opinion. It's very nice on crackers, celery and, I'm afraid, by the bite. I just made it again tonight and it was quite a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Must use corn chips for base, always a crowd pleaser and looks so wonderful on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
A couple of ideas I've had when making this recipe which is truly a crowd pleaser. 1. make sure the cream cheese is really soft before adding the eggs to avoid an 'eggy' end product. 2. you can also do this in a bundt pan and it decorates up very nicely as a wreath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Iola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hollister, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2000
Excellent & very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
This cheesecake is delicious! It's great with Fritos Corn Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I made this but with some changes based on another recipe for a similar appetizer because of the reviews saying it is too bland. I mixed 1/2 a package of taco seasoning mix into the cream cheese mixture before baking, used canned, diced green chiles instead of jalapeno dip, 2 cups of "Mexican Blend" grated cheese and no cottage cheese. I added the remaining taco seasoning to the sour cream topping. It smelled sooooooo good while baking, I could hardly stay out of it! Served with tortilla chips, it went over very well at the potluck I took it to. Everyone is also impressed by how pretty it is with the rings of black olive, tomato and green onion arranged on top. I think a way to avert the soggy bottom crust might be to prebake the crust lined springform pan in the oven for 10 minutes or so. I am going to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Thanks for the great recipe! It was a big hit at our party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBROWN43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
5/20/10 Hard to believe I've been making this recipe for 6 years! It's still a favorite of my friends & family. I've made it spicy and mild depending on where I'm going. 4/13/04 This recipe is delicious to the eye and taste. I'm glad that I read the reviews before hand about the crust getting soggy. This recipe works well with low fat products and keeps for several days (with out crust). Very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I just brought this cheesecake to a party and it was a huge hit! The only revisions I made was to add salt, pepper, chopped jalapenos and a cayenne/chili spice to the "cheese" mix. I made it with the original ingredients and it was a little bland but the extra additions gave it a delicious kick! It was easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I thought this was a different take on the usual mexican dips. Everyone loved it! I replaced the chiles with jalapenos from my garden for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KantCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Greek Appetizer Flatbread

See how to make a simple Greek-inspired flatbread appetizer.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States