Southwest Appetizer Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
A couple of ideas I've had when making this recipe which is truly a crowd pleaser. 1. make sure the cream cheese is really soft before adding the eggs to avoid an 'eggy' end product. 2. you can also do this in a bundt pan and it decorates up very nicely as a wreath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Iola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hollister, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I thought this was a different take on the usual mexican dips. Everyone loved it! I replaced the chiles with jalapenos from my garden for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KantCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Must use corn chips for base, always a crowd pleaser and looks so wonderful on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steve Bell
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I really liked the "back door" warmth of this recipe but I recommend adding one 4 oz. can of diced jalapenos. There is plenty of fat in the cheeses to tone it down and we had adults and kids enjoying it. It would not have enough heat without in my opinion. It's very nice on crackers, celery and, I'm afraid, by the bite. I just made it again tonight and it was quite a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I was very disappointed about this. It took up a lot of time to make and it really needed more zip to it. I added the juice from a can of chopped jalapeños and taco seasoning to the mix. It helped a little but we ended up putting salsa on top of it to serve. I won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I made this for an office party. It was quite simple and looked very attractive. However: I think next time I will add jalepenos to spice it up a bit. Otherwise it was good for the milder crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I wanted to try this recipe for a Mexican party. It looked really yummy! I found the cheese cake part to be bland, even though I added some hot cheese and extra green chiles. It was also hard to scoop up with tortilla chips as they broke. I don't think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
For the amount of time making this and all the ingredients needed this was a disappointment. The taste was bland and no flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Thanks for the great recipe! It was a big hit at our party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBROWN43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I just brought this cheesecake to a party and it was a huge hit! The only revisions I made was to add salt, pepper, chopped jalapenos and a cayenne/chili spice to the "cheese" mix. I made it with the original ingredients and it was a little bland but the extra additions gave it a delicious kick! It was easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caprese Appetizer

Caprese salad in bite-size portions! Skewers of mozzarella, basil, and tomatoes.

Greek Appetizer Flatbread

See how to make a simple Greek-inspired flatbread appetizer.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States