Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I made these with Thanksgiving dinner because my husband loves his fathers soul food but especially his collard greens. I thought I would try to give him a little touch of his father who was not able to be with us for Thanksgiving. He commented that these were better than his fathers. Kootos to SouthernGirl3! The only thing I did different was put the liquid in a crock pot on low the night before with the ham hock. It made the meat so tender and you really get a lot of extra flavoring. Other than that, my recommendation is to make extra because they were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This recipe was great. This was my first time cooking collards greens. My family loved them. I had one change which was adding two tablespoons of extra virgin oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Gotta love the collard greens. I didnt have ham hocks on hand so I used smoked k-basa. Other than that I followed the recipe. I know, I should have used ham hocks, next time I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This recipe is awesome! Use the ham hocks, and even add smoked sausage/kielbasa toward the end of the cooking time. These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
this recipe was great!! I have cooked greens before, but there were not as flavorful as these, this is by far the best and easiest recipe there is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
These are fantastic! They came out exactly as I had hoped. They were great with a roasted pork loin and the Acorn Squash with Apples recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
My sister who is very picky, loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is an excellent recipe I have been doing it for years. The only thing I do differently is add about 1 TBSP honey, or syrup or even brown sugar. This gets rid of all bitterness from the greens. Everyone I have cooked them for loves them even the ones who say they don't eat collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was easy and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I love greens and was dying to make my own. This recipe was great. The only thing I did differently was boiling the ham hocks for a while before adding the greens. I was very satisfied with the results and will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States