Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Truly (as a girl that learned this from a southern cooking Grandmomma) is THE southern collard greens. Must add cornbread to complete. :) Oh, tip to cut bitter is add a pinch of baking soda (works for sweet tea too to cut bitterness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
love, love, love it!!!!! My bf said he never liked collard greens but after this he's been asking me when am I going to make it again!! The only thing I've added was a sprinkle of crushed red pepper while it's simmering. This is a true the south collards recipe.. thanks for sharing southerngirl3 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paxton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Awesome. I did add a few more items to this recipe to make it like down home greens. I added some chopped onions, and sliced hot sausage links. I also added about 1/8 cup of chopped pecans, to reduce the strong smell that the green make when you cook them. It works perfect every time. My fiance and daughter both ate these , even though neither one of them like greens, so they say. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
we loved these even my 2 yr old ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made these for New Years with Hoppin John and it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The chicken broth made a huge difference and when I cooked them a little too long waiting for the other dishes to get ready, I just added another can of chicken broth and took them out of the pot. Simmering hot in chicken broth in the bowl was perfect texture for serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gg810

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake View, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These were delicious, tender and easy to make! I did follow the suggestion of some of the reviewers and added 1 TBSP brown sugar to cut bitterness. I also stirred in a few dashes of cayenne just because I like it :) This is an awesome recipe! I didn't even use salt because the salt from the broth and the hocks was plenty enough to season them just perfectly. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Love this recipe and it's simplicity! I do not use ham hocks, I used chopped ham from my bone-in ham and let this simmer in my crock pot for hours. Other than that substitution and cooking in a crock pot I followed the recipe exactly. Thank you for a true recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I used mixed turnip, collar and mustard, and did add the brown sugar so I did twek it but these were devoured at christmas! Making them for new years day! thank you , killer recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Based on this recipe, my husband now eats collard greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States