Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe! I added 1 tsp lemon juice and it was prefect. And I slow cooked them for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious recipe for collards that I have to have on New Year's Day with ham and black eyed peas. I followed the recipe exactly but decreased the water because I didn't want that much liquid. I cooked the ham hocks for an hour in the broth prior to adding the collards. I added a few dashes of red pepper flakes and a few tablespoons of sugar at the end to cut the bitterness. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I be lovin' me some greens! I had to learn how to cook collards cuz they're NOT like others that cook up quickly. I also put in some chopped onion and Tabasco sauce. (Diced up smoked sausage rocks as well). They'll cook up quickly in a pressure cooker in 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Simple and delicious! It was my first time making collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
made this with smoked turkey wings - took all the meat of the bone before adding to the pot. Next time I'll cook the meat and liquid before adding the greens. Overall very good -close to what I'm used to (my family is from the south)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladielisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I have used this recipe several times and every time it just gets better and better. Thank you for sharing this, it's exactly what I've been looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Delicious and super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I got some collars and turnip greens in my csa. box th8s weekend and had no idea what to do with them since I have never eaten or cooked them before. so I decided on this recipe and they were delicious!!! I did use a little less than half just regular verge broth and the rest water for the liquid because I was worried about it being too salty. I also added just a bit of honey like others suggested. I ate them with cornered and sime caramelized onions. So good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
GREAT! I was terrified of using hamhocks...my husband did once and it was a distaster...so salty. IDK what he did though b/c these turned out PERFECT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Absolutly Amazing! I had greens for the first time when I met my inlaws for the first time. Had a soul food Christmas. Well, I can tell you these bad boys will be at my dinner table for every holiday to come! Simply, cheap, and completly YUMMIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States