Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I used soime bacon as well and added some leon juice becuase I like my greens a bit tangy and they were sooooo wonderful I love this recipe thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanellKendall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Texas, USA
Living In: Ft Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I used several diced strips of smoked thick-sliced bacon since I couldn't bring myself to fork over six dollars for a four-pack of "smoked ham hocks", two of which I didn't need. But now that I know my boyfriend loves them, I won't be afraid of the hocks next time. Also, I used two bunches of collards- they cooked down so much in an hour, I only ended up with three servings, so I'm glad I did! Also, I added a T. of sugar, following other cooks' advice, and used 2 cans of chicken broth and omitted the water, since it was cheaper than buying the little condensed cans of Campbells broth. Very new taste for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Oh my goodness...I love greens...I love a couple other recipes...THIS one is da bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is it. Not looking any further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Pretty good recipe for greens. I think anyone who tries this will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Made as stated with the exception of using Condensed Cream of Chicken because I didn't read the ingredient list completely. Served with Grilled Italian Pork Chops and Green Bean Bundles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This was great..I only had apple cider vinegar and used that. I also added about a tablespoon of sugar. It was delicious. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Runnemede, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was a great recipe. I've made it several times now and always get compliments.I like to add red pepper flakes to spice it up when making it for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I'm a Chinese/Hawaiian girl married to an African American and I never tasted greens till I met him. I've been looking for a recipe to surprise him with because he's always saying how he misses greens. So I made this recipe and only changed a few things based on others reviews. I use 1 lb of greens (not 1 bunch), a pince of red pepper flakes, 1 lg onion, 2 cloves of garlic, 6 slices of bacon (fried and cut up), and 3 tbsp of Liquid Smoke. I also put the ham hock overnight in the slow cooker to make it tender and then used the liquid as the "water" for the recipe. My husband couldn't believe this was my first try and loved it. He said it was right up there with his mom's greens (and she's a good ol' girl from Alabama). I was thrilled and will continue to use this often. It was soooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I love this recipe. It's very simple, and the collard greens turned out better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vwcj78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States