Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
A friend grows collards here in Alaska, and gave me a couple of plants. I made this recipe today, and it is heaven!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I must have done this wrong..way to salty. I used smoked turkey instead of ham hocks. Next time I will not add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
So easy and so good. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mleinnyc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutherford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I used soime bacon as well and added some leon juice becuase I like my greens a bit tangy and they were sooooo wonderful I love this recipe thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanellKendall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Texas, USA
Living In: Ft Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I used several diced strips of smoked thick-sliced bacon since I couldn't bring myself to fork over six dollars for a four-pack of "smoked ham hocks", two of which I didn't need. But now that I know my boyfriend loves them, I won't be afraid of the hocks next time. Also, I used two bunches of collards- they cooked down so much in an hour, I only ended up with three servings, so I'm glad I did! Also, I added a T. of sugar, following other cooks' advice, and used 2 cans of chicken broth and omitted the water, since it was cheaper than buying the little condensed cans of Campbells broth. Very new taste for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Oh my goodness...I love greens...I love a couple other recipes...THIS one is da bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is it. Not looking any further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Pretty good recipe for greens. I think anyone who tries this will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Made as stated with the exception of using Condensed Cream of Chicken because I didn't read the ingredient list completely. Served with Grilled Italian Pork Chops and Green Bean Bundles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 121-130 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States