Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were delicious. Just like grandma used to make. They were out of smoke ham hocks at my grocery store, so I substituted smoked turkey legs. Mmm, mmm, good! I served these with pot roast, black eyed peas spooned over cornbread, and a bottle of "pepper sauce" to pass around. Grandma would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Wonderful...that all I can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Amazing!! Used 2 bags of collards & kept all other ingredients the same. SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Fantastic!!!! I have never made Collard Greens before but now this is a staple. I did add a tablespoon of honey to take away any bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
we had never had collared greens - these are so good - using a good smoked ham hock is very important - we simmer apr 8 hours to insure the greens are so tender & the flavor is right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Pearman Wade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
These collards were excellent. There were people at our house who said they usually don't like greens and they really enjoyed these. I added a little brown sugar as some have suggested. This will definitely be our "go-to" recipe for collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClovisLorax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
These turned out great. I did however add a TBS of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is SO yummy! I followed the recipe but put in some of my own additions. I couldn't find any ham hocks so I just used a small ham cut up into slices. I boiled the ham slices in water beef broth for 45 minutes before I added the collards. I also chopped up half a onion and 2 jalepenos. For spices I added cayenne pepper and creole seasoning...I don't have measurments I did it by sight and smell. They came out PERFECT..not too soggy or too crunchy! We are going to eat them tommorrow with pinto beans, cornbread and mashed potatos. A perfect southern meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Excellent! The best collards I've ever made! I think the chicken broth makes a huge difference. For the vinegar, I substituted about 1 tsp. lemon juice, and it gave the dish just the right amount of "snap."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States