Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
GREAT. Made "VEGETARIAN" w/ no meat, more onions, little garlic, and some red bell peppers, and 1/2 tsp of liquid smoke. Meat eaters Loved it and veggies couldn't believe I didn't use meat. (I used veggie broth)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I tried this recipe and it was great! I am not a Southerner, however I am dating a true Georgia boy and he loves his greens. This recipe was really easy to follow, especially for someone that has never even bought collard greens before. The only thing I would add is that the greens need to be watch throughly before cooking. Also, I used turkey necks instead of the ham hocks (it was his preference). I simmered the necks on chicken broth and with half of a chopped onion, salt/pepper to taste for several hours and then added the greens and simmered for several more hours. I did added a tbsp of brown sugar and vinegar. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
My husband loves collards and I've made them a number of times. After using this recipe, he said, "you finally got it" these are super! I did ad both chicken broth and some pork to flavor. Even my little boys decided that they finally like collards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
These were delicious. Just like grandma used to make. They were out of smoke ham hocks at my grocery store, so I substituted smoked turkey legs. Mmm, mmm, good! I served these with pot roast, black eyed peas spooned over cornbread, and a bottle of "pepper sauce" to pass around. Grandma would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Wonderful...that all I can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Amazing!! Used 2 bags of collards & kept all other ingredients the same. SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Fantastic!!!! I have never made Collard Greens before but now this is a staple. I did add a tablespoon of honey to take away any bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
we had never had collared greens - these are so good - using a good smoked ham hock is very important - we simmer apr 8 hours to insure the greens are so tender & the flavor is right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
These collards were excellent. There were people at our house who said they usually don't like greens and they really enjoyed these. I added a little brown sugar as some have suggested. This will definitely be our "go-to" recipe for collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClovisLorax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States