Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I tried this recipe with the left over hamhock I had and it turned out AWESOME! My husband kept telling me how good it was! I put mine in a pressure cooker for about 4 minutes then added the hamhock I had simmered earlier. Let it simmer together for about 30 mins. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I make them every holiday, being from North Carolina and living in Florida for last 30 years this is pretty close to home for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is the best recipe for collard greens! I didn't think I'd find anything better than what I ate in West Africa but I did. I used 2 smoke ham shanks and 32 oz chicken broth with water in slow cooker all night. Woke up to a wonderful aroma! Used 2 bunches of collard greens. Agree to coarsely chop onions. Minced onions make the predominate flavor onion. Not good. Thank you for a wonderful recipe! This has become a very regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Excellent receipe. I used a quart of the low sodium chicken stock and cooked all day long. Soak the greens in cold water, rinse, stack 4 or 5 leaves on top on one another; roll the stack and slice in 1/4 rounds, turn the cutting board and slice the rounds again. Easy and perfect size for cooking. I use the stems too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene
Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Really salty. The condensed soup has your daily allotment of sodium, not to mention the ham hocks. The collards got tender before I was able to get any little pieces of meat off the hocks so my dish didn't look like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geneen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I do vary it slightly though. I add 2 teaspoons of red pepper flake and I simmer the ham hocks in the broth for about 45 minutes before adding the greens. I remove the hocks and pick off the meat and toss it in with the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
My very favourite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Fantastic! I cut my collard greens right down to the stem (very small pieces) this addded a sweet flavour). I also used a tablespoon of Red Wine Vinegar (not a lot). Thank you so much. Our neighbours couldn't get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I have never had collard greens before. These were wonderful. I used a ham bone instead of ham hocks. And then I cooked them for about 1 1/2 half hours. The flavor was very rich and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States