Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
just what I was looking for. The chicken broth really makes the difference. These were delicious and will be perfect for our New Years Day traditions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this recipe last year for what has now become a yearly tradition. Our group of friends have requested that I make these again this year for our New Years get together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
THANK YOU SOUTHERN GIRL3 I learned how to cook watching my mom VERY closely, and I've never liked to ask my sister for recipes, as I like to remember Moms way or experiment on my own. Moms been resting for awile, but you just helped me recreate the exact way her collards tasted. I made Lyn B's high temp round and your collards for Christmas and got rave reviews from our guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great Easy Recipe for collard greens. Flavorful and Fast but you may want to extend the cooking time a little longer for the greens to be tender ( 1.5 to 2 hours in total simmer time). I did add some cut okra ( I am from the South and this is a requirement) and I used leftover/fatty pieces of ham from my Christmas ham instead of buying ham hocks. I also added a little sugar ( 1 TBSP) as suggested by some others. The recipe worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent! I used salt pork fat back instead of ham hocks, and used chicken seasoning to make my own chiken broth. Followed the directions exactly as stated for everything else. They turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
5 Stars and Two Thumbs up. I did not have ham hocks and substitute a few slices of turkey bacon and a few hunks of the end of an ham I prepared for dinner along with the greens. I also did not have condensed chicken broth on hand and substituted homemade broth. I was skeptical of using as much water as the recipe called for figuring the greens would release water too; however, I did not change it. About an hour later, I feel in love. I was so proud considering I had never made greens outside of heating up a can, LOL. Great recipe. May not taste like the ones your (grand)mother cooked all day but for about 75 minutes of your time you will have some darn good greens!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faux Chef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Wow, this was delicious. I added one chopped onion, 1 bay leaf, and boiled the ham hocks in the broth for 30 min before adding the greens (took bay leaf out at this point). Omitted the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
My collards were so flavorful and tender. I cooked them a little longer and added a bit more vinegar. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Southerngirl SAVED THE DAY! I cooked mine in a crock pot...and I used smoked pork necks instead of hamhocks...the flavor was delicious! And they were so tender. Best greens I ever made :-) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Randle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
These are the best collards I have ever made! Wonderfully simple but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States