Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yum.. I added a little sugar to take away the bitterness of the greens; also a few dashes of hot sauce is how we like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yum! Everyone (including individuals who don't usually like collard greens) loved them. Thanks so much! I added a pinch of sugar and a dash of hot sauce at the end as suggested by fellow ARers in the exchange (to help with bitterness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I ♥ allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great recipe. I did alter it a bit after reading some of the other ratings. I added 1 tbsp of honey to the pot, and I had already used my ham hocks for my black eyed peas. So, I used hog jowl instead. It turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Grimes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Easy recipe! Followed the recipe to the tee and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good! My husband said he doesn't like collards but we didn't have any leftovers! The only change I made was to the ham. I coudn't find ham hocks so I bought I slice of bone-in ham. I chopped half and threw the half with the bone in whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNB826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
just what I was looking for. The chicken broth really makes the difference. These were delicious and will be perfect for our New Years Day traditions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this recipe last year for what has now become a yearly tradition. Our group of friends have requested that I make these again this year for our New Years get together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
THANK YOU SOUTHERN GIRL3 I learned how to cook watching my mom VERY closely, and I've never liked to ask my sister for recipes, as I like to remember Moms way or experiment on my own. Moms been resting for awile, but you just helped me recreate the exact way her collards tasted. I made Lyn B's high temp round and your collards for Christmas and got rave reviews from our guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great Easy Recipe for collard greens. Flavorful and Fast but you may want to extend the cooking time a little longer for the greens to be tender ( 1.5 to 2 hours in total simmer time). I did add some cut okra ( I am from the South and this is a requirement) and I used leftover/fatty pieces of ham from my Christmas ham instead of buying ham hocks. I also added a little sugar ( 1 TBSP) as suggested by some others. The recipe worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Excellent! I used salt pork fat back instead of ham hocks, and used chicken seasoning to make my own chiken broth. Followed the directions exactly as stated for everything else. They turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 101-110 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States