Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Wonderful...that all I can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Amazing!! Used 2 bags of collards & kept all other ingredients the same. SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Fantastic!!!! I have never made Collard Greens before but now this is a staple. I did add a tablespoon of honey to take away any bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
we had never had collared greens - these are so good - using a good smoked ham hock is very important - we simmer apr 8 hours to insure the greens are so tender & the flavor is right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Pearman Wade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
These collards were excellent. There were people at our house who said they usually don't like greens and they really enjoyed these. I added a little brown sugar as some have suggested. This will definitely be our "go-to" recipe for collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClovisLorax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
These turned out great. I did however add a TBS of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is SO yummy! I followed the recipe but put in some of my own additions. I couldn't find any ham hocks so I just used a small ham cut up into slices. I boiled the ham slices in water beef broth for 45 minutes before I added the collards. I also chopped up half a onion and 2 jalepenos. For spices I added cayenne pepper and creole seasoning...I don't have measurments I did it by sight and smell. They came out PERFECT..not too soggy or too crunchy! We are going to eat them tommorrow with pinto beans, cornbread and mashed potatos. A perfect southern meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Excellent! The best collards I've ever made! I think the chicken broth makes a huge difference. For the vinegar, I substituted about 1 tsp. lemon juice, and it gave the dish just the right amount of "snap."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very good. I let it cook longer than a hour. I like it tender. We ate it with our new Years hoppin john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willnikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States