Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I made these with Thanksgiving dinner because my husband loves his fathers soul food but especially his collard greens. I thought I would try to give him a little touch of his father who was not able to be with us for Thanksgiving. He commented that these were better than his fathers. Kootos to SouthernGirl3! The only thing I did different was put the liquid in a crock pot on low the night before with the ham hock. It made the meat so tender and you really get a lot of extra flavoring. Other than that, my recommendation is to make extra because they were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This recipe was great. This was my first time cooking collards greens. My family loved them. I had one change which was adding two tablespoons of extra virgin oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Gotta love the collard greens. I didnt have ham hocks on hand so I used smoked k-basa. Other than that I followed the recipe. I know, I should have used ham hocks, next time I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
this recipe was great!! I have cooked greens before, but there were not as flavorful as these, this is by far the best and easiest recipe there is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Too salty. The flavor is good, but I could only eat a few bites before starting to get that drinking-seawater feeling I usually only experience when I've been nibbling green olives. Water didn't help, even. I'm going to try it with water instead of broth, and only one ham hock. Collard greens are naturally good, to me at least, and only need a little flavor, not a lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
THESE ARE THE BEST collard greens I have ever had! I am not a true southern since my mom is from New York and my dad from Minnesota, so after marrying a Georgia boy and living in South Carolina, I desperatley wanted to make collard greens comparable with his mothers. Hubby said these tasted different but were equally good! And surprisingly, I loved them as well. I did alter the recipe slightly though. I halved it because it was only for the four servings and then used frozen collard greens already chopped (only b/c the store was out of fresh though!) I used Goya ham flavoring in place of the ham hocks. Then I added some finely chopped onion and cayenne or red pepper to it as well. SPICY! I will never cook collard greens any other way again. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Pretty good. This was my 1st time cooking greens. I would add something else for some cajun spices to bring out a little more flavor, and would try adding mustard greens too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
My sister who is very picky, loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
These are fantastic! They came out exactly as I had hoped. They were great with a roasted pork loin and the Acorn Squash with Apples recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was easy and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States