Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
made this with smoked turkey wings - took all the meat of the bone before adding to the pot. Next time I'll cook the meat and liquid before adding the greens. Overall very good -close to what I'm used to (my family is from the south)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladielisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I have used this recipe several times and every time it just gets better and better. Thank you for sharing this, it's exactly what I've been looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Delicious and super easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I got some collars and turnip greens in my csa. box th8s weekend and had no idea what to do with them since I have never eaten or cooked them before. so I decided on this recipe and they were delicious!!! I did use a little less than half just regular verge broth and the rest water for the liquid because I was worried about it being too salty. I also added just a bit of honey like others suggested. I ate them with cornered and sime caramelized onions. So good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
GREAT! I was terrified of using hamhocks...my husband did once and it was a distaster...so salty. IDK what he did though b/c these turned out PERFECT! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Absolutly Amazing! I had greens for the first time when I met my inlaws for the first time. Had a soul food Christmas. Well, I can tell you these bad boys will be at my dinner table for every holiday to come! Simply, cheap, and completly YUMMIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I don't eat greens but I made these for my boyfriend and he said they were almost as good as his mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsieh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This recipe is ALL that!! I have never cooked collard green until today. My picky kids wanted seconds! Some small changes I made: Used packaged concentrated tubes of chicken broth, rather than the can. Used 1/2 smoked turkey leg for flavor, since we dont eat pork (If you use the whole leg, the smoked turkey might be overwhelming in taste). Put a Tablespoon of brown sugar with the vinegar. I think I will use 1/2 tablespoon of vinegar instead, cause it still had that vinegar taste (Thats the purpose of the brown sugar, to eliminate that taste). Oh man, this will be a favorite at te table. Especialy since my kids wil eat their veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
i read lots of recpies about southern cooking . some i can't belive they have the gall to call it southern cooking . this one is great . !!!! ksquawd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My only complaint about these is that they are too salty with ham hocks *and* chicken broth, so you need to use low-sodium broth (or reduce it to one can broth and substitute more water). Otherwise they are super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States