Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I tried this and I'm not sure it came out the way it was supposed to, but I'm not a fan. I think ham hock is a little too heavy for the taste I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Oh baby this is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was AWESOME. I've always loved greens and wanted my kids to like them so I could make them more. I tried this recipe and it was a hit. Only thing was that I didn't have fresh collards so I used the frozen ones. I also used chicken bouillon instead of broth and as other have suggested, I added a tbls of brown sugar to take out the bitterness. The sugar did not make it sweet at all. I also cooked the ham hocks a bit before adding the greens. A new staple to our menu THANKS SO MUCH Southerngirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was my first attempt at cooking collard greens and this recipe was a huge success! The only thing I did differently was use regular chicken broth cause I didn't have condensed chicken broth. I also don't think one bunch of collards equals 8 servings...cause it barely feed 4 people ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I use smoked ham hocks & a pinch of red pepper flakes - oh yeah - these are some darn good collards!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I've always avoided collard greens, thinking I wouldn't like them. Made this for our New Year's dinner and was pleasantly surprised that I actually ENJOYED them! I used one really big ham hock and cooked it in the broth in a crockpot for a few hours - then transferred to pot where I added/cooked the rest. Really glad I tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe! I added 1 tsp lemon juice and it was prefect. And I slow cooked them for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious recipe for collards that I have to have on New Year's Day with ham and black eyed peas. I followed the recipe exactly but decreased the water because I didn't want that much liquid. I cooked the ham hocks for an hour in the broth prior to adding the collards. I added a few dashes of red pepper flakes and a few tablespoons of sugar at the end to cut the bitterness. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I be lovin' me some greens! I had to learn how to cook collards cuz they're NOT like others that cook up quickly. I also put in some chopped onion and Tabasco sauce. (Diced up smoked sausage rocks as well). They'll cook up quickly in a pressure cooker in 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Simple and delicious! It was my first time making collard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States