Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I tried this recipe with the left over hamhock I had and it turned out AWESOME! My husband kept telling me how good it was! I put mine in a pressure cooker for about 4 minutes then added the hamhock I had simmered earlier. Let it simmer together for about 30 mins. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I make them every holiday, being from North Carolina and living in Florida for last 30 years this is pretty close to home for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is the best recipe for collard greens! I didn't think I'd find anything better than what I ate in West Africa but I did. I used 2 smoke ham shanks and 32 oz chicken broth with water in slow cooker all night. Woke up to a wonderful aroma! Used 2 bunches of collard greens. Agree to coarsely chop onions. Minced onions make the predominate flavor onion. Not good. Thank you for a wonderful recipe! This has become a very regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Excellent receipe. I used a quart of the low sodium chicken stock and cooked all day long. Soak the greens in cold water, rinse, stack 4 or 5 leaves on top on one another; roll the stack and slice in 1/4 rounds, turn the cutting board and slice the rounds again. Easy and perfect size for cooking. I use the stems too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene
Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Really salty. The condensed soup has your daily allotment of sodium, not to mention the ham hocks. The collards got tender before I was able to get any little pieces of meat off the hocks so my dish didn't look like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geneen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I do vary it slightly though. I add 2 teaspoons of red pepper flake and I simmer the ham hocks in the broth for about 45 minutes before adding the greens. I remove the hocks and pick off the meat and toss it in with the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
My very favourite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Fantastic! I cut my collard greens right down to the stem (very small pieces) this addded a sweet flavour). I also used a tablespoon of Red Wine Vinegar (not a lot). Thank you so much. Our neighbours couldn't get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I have never had collard greens before. These were wonderful. I used a ham bone instead of ham hocks. And then I cooked them for about 1 1/2 half hours. The flavor was very rich and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States