Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I tried this recipe but found that the chicken broth made the greens taste salty. I thought it was just me and my taste buds but the rest of the family said the same. I guess I'll stick with water instead but thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESHA910

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Minot Afb, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used this receipe for part of my New Years fare and the greens were delicious. The broth makes all the difference. My boyfriend who comes from Louisiana loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Very easy to make. I purchased pre cut greens to cut down on time. Simmered for 4 hours to tenderize the stalks. Added a couple of garlic cloves as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I made these for New Years and used hog jowl instead of ham hocks and they turned out wonderful! I did cook them on low for about five hours. They just kept getting better. I am from Chicago and my Southern friends said they were really good and couldn't believe a Yankee could have made them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Perfect. To reduce the smell of the collards while they cook, add one pecan (shelled). Seriously, it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
These were great! I used smoked turky necks, since I don't eat pork. I also used 1/2 broth and 1/2 water. They were flavored well. I fixed some cornbread and ate them with it....SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I love greens and was dying to make my own. This recipe was great. The only thing I did differently was boiling the ham hocks for a while before adding the greens. I was very satisfied with the results and will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is an excellent recipe I have been doing it for years. The only thing I do differently is add about 1 TBSP honey, or syrup or even brown sugar. This gets rid of all bitterness from the greens. Everyone I have cooked them for loves them even the ones who say they don't eat collards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This recipe is awesome! Use the ham hocks, and even add smoked sausage/kielbasa toward the end of the cooking time. These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was easy and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States