Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I've been cooking collard greens with this recipe for yrs. I put everything in a crock pot, a dash or two of cayenne peeper and add 1 shelled pecan cook low for 8-10 hrs. Basically no sweat and you'll get yourself an authentic and tender southern greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My first attempt to make collard greens turned out pretty well. These were tasty but something about them seemed too greasy. Perhaps I used too many ham hocks, maybe it was the new chicken stock, one i had never used before. Regardless, these were still really good and I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Perfect! I used mustard greens because I like them better. Next time I will try this with a mixture of collard, mustard & turnip greens. Best darned greens I've ever made tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
These greens are really great. I add some Frank's hot sauce & it's good to go. The pot liquor could be served in a cup as a soup! I do a rough chiffonade on the greens & go back & do a couple cross cuts. The longer pieces of greens can be hard to eat. Try this recipe you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Used ham steak cut up into bite sized pieces instead of ham hocks. Served with a steak recipe along with baked potatoes. This was a quick and easy recipe & is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Not like my grandma's but these are pretty darn GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This was my first time eating collard greens and I must say I am a fan. These were very tasty and had a lot fewer calories than Grandma Ollie-Belle's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryce Gifford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I tried this recipe but found that the chicken broth made the greens taste salty. I thought it was just me and my taste buds but the rest of the family said the same. I guess I'll stick with water instead but thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESHA910

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Minot Afb, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I used this receipe for part of my New Years fare and the greens were delicious. The broth makes all the difference. My boyfriend who comes from Louisiana loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States