Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
My first attempt at greens for a "Southern comfort food" theme dinner party. I used turnip greens with this and I'd say they were a success even though some of my guests were a little hesitant. I only simmered about 40 minutes and used bacon instead of ham hocks, so I'm sure these could only be improved when using that key ingredient. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I have been trying to duplicate the collard greens I had at a friend's house a long time ago without much success. This recipe did it! I added a heaping tablespoon of sugar to the recipe to provide a hint of sweetness and found the flavor I had been searching for. The vinegar cuts the bitterness and really cuts the odor while cooking. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I'm not a Southerner but I love me some greens. This is a great recipe for collards. none of the recipes I've seen on this site stress the neeed to wash the greens throughly. It takes a while and is the worst part of making them but very necessary.I also add somecoarsely chopped onion and red pepper flakes. Serve with hot sauce and cornbread, mmmmmmmmmmmmmm gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was my first time making collards and I used this recipe. Did everything just as the recipe calls, they turned out excellent, my mom says,"Now you can make the traditional collards during the holidays from now on", they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimpleCookNC1971

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laurinburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made these greens for Thanksgiving and they were wonderful. My kids even ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peaches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Being from Charleston, collards is something every girl should know how to do. Although I don't personally care for them (no matter how they are prepared), this recipe received praise at two family "Sunday dinners" and Thanksgiving. My only suggestions is that they cook significantly longer than an hour. I usually put them on the stove in the morning and let them sit as I don't think you can overcook a collard but oyu can certainly undercook them. Have pepper sauce available for the die hard greens eaters. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Provence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I've been cooking collard greens with this recipe for yrs. I put everything in a crock pot, a dash or two of cayenne peeper and add 1 shelled pecan cook low for 8-10 hrs. Basically no sweat and you'll get yourself an authentic and tender southern greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My first attempt to make collard greens turned out pretty well. These were tasty but something about them seemed too greasy. Perhaps I used too many ham hocks, maybe it was the new chicken stock, one i had never used before. Regardless, these were still really good and I'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Perfect! I used mustard greens because I like them better. Next time I will try this with a mixture of collard, mustard & turnip greens. Best darned greens I've ever made tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
These greens are really great. I add some Frank's hot sauce & it's good to go. The pot liquor could be served in a cup as a soup! I do a rough chiffonade on the greens & go back & do a couple cross cuts. The longer pieces of greens can be hard to eat. Try this recipe you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA

Displaying results 171-180 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States