Southern as You Can Get Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Perfect recipe! I really love the way these collards came out. Followed recipe to a T. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I loved this recipe... delicious~~ I substitued a smoked turkey leg for the ham hock. It has the same delious smokey flavor without the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I did as one of the other review suggested and added a rounded tbsp of sweetener (splenda) and it came out perfect. I didn't have ham hock so I just used about 4 slices of bacon and it was fabulous. I will try it with the ham hock next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay Kay Hot Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Great! We served this for company, and really enjoyed it. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Maybe I used too many hamhocks,(the package contained four 1/4" slices), but this was far too salty. I did add a tsp of kosher salt because I had no idea of the saltiness of the hamhocks. I can tell the basic flavor is excellent...just too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I have made collard greens several times for my husband, who really likes them. I do NOT like them, but have eaten them along with the rest of the family. This recipe was GREAT! My daughter and I both marvelled that we were ENJOYING the collards. I will definitely keep this as my primary collard recipe. I did cook it a little longer than called for so maybe that helped as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
My first attempt at greens for a "Southern comfort food" theme dinner party. I used turnip greens with this and I'd say they were a success even though some of my guests were a little hesitant. I only simmered about 40 minutes and used bacon instead of ham hocks, so I'm sure these could only be improved when using that key ingredient. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I have been trying to duplicate the collard greens I had at a friend's house a long time ago without much success. This recipe did it! I added a heaping tablespoon of sugar to the recipe to provide a hint of sweetness and found the flavor I had been searching for. The vinegar cuts the bitterness and really cuts the odor while cooking. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I'm not a Southerner but I love me some greens. This is a great recipe for collards. none of the recipes I've seen on this site stress the neeed to wash the greens throughly. It takes a while and is the worst part of making them but very necessary.I also add somecoarsely chopped onion and red pepper flakes. Serve with hot sauce and cornbread, mmmmmmmmmmmmmm gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This was my first time making collards and I used this recipe. Did everything just as the recipe calls, they turned out excellent, my mom says,"Now you can make the traditional collards during the holidays from now on", they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimpleCookNC1971

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laurinburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States